A few years ago we went to the beach for a family day. My niece was about 2 years old at the time. As we watched, she made a hollow in the sand, found herself a cup and began the process of emptying the ocean- making trip after trip with her little cup, scooping water and pouring it into her own creation. Each time she returned to her pond, she would be quite puzzled. Unknown to her, each cupful she poured in had seeped away yet she continued to try. We took the cup away and tried to get her to understand what was happening but she insisted on accomplishing her mission so we gave the cup back to her. I forgot how long it took her to abandon the exercise but as you can imagine, we had a good laugh at her antics.

Recent events have made me realize how much I’ve done that to myself over the years. I can’t count the number of times I have attempted to do the impossible without thinking for a moment that I have gone into His territory. Our idea of emptying the ocean is an impossible dream. It just cannot happen. Creation was accomplished through God’s speaking it into being … we had nothing to do with it!

What are you attempting to transfer this morning? A major project? Finances? Family relationships? Job pressures? What are you attempting to create? Your future? The perfect balance? Life purpose? … All God has to do is speak. All we have to do is listen and obey.

My favourite Psalm (Ps 139 below) speaks of God’s design for our lives and how He saw us before we came into existence. It speaks of purpose. It speaks of plans. It speaks of His constant presence. I’d like to encourage us this morning to hand the cup to Him and allow Him to do what seems impossible. Wells have been dug in dry areas and water has appeared in unlikely places ( In the days of Moses, God caused water to come from a rock!! Numbers 20:11) If it’s water you seek, He is able to give you that and more. He alone gives peace like a river (Isaiah 48:18).

Proverbs 19:21 says “Many are the plans in a man’s heart, but it is the LORD’s purpose that prevails.” (John 7:38) Believe in Him and out of your belly (heart) shall flow rivers of living waters! It’s not always easy. Life bites at times. We plan, plans fail. We trust, people disappoint. We dream, dreams die…. but we have hope! Psalm 71:5 O Lord, You alone are my hope. I’ve trusted You, O LORD, from childhood.

Tired of the ‘trips’ that add up to nothing? Tired of losing grip on what you think you have? Tired of chasing elusive dreams? Hand over the cup .. He’ll give you all you need and so much more!!

Father, thank You for the Gift of hope. Thank You for Your plans for our lives. Today we give our dreams to You and ask that Your perfect will be done in our lives. We don’t always see a way out but You see the beginning and the end as one so we lay our lives in Your hands and ask for Your direction. Wash us now with the blood of the Lamb and bless the works of our hands today. May our lives bring You glory and honour and may those around us see Your light in us. Thank You for peace – even the peace we cannot understand. When everything around us seems all broken and falling apart, help us to lift our eyes to You and trust in Your unfailing love. Give us clarity and direction for the answers we seek and may we never forget to give You all the praise.

Have a Marvelous Monday and a Wonderful Week!

Blessings,
ann

Toni R (c)

Hillsong – My Hope http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h4zghTKEOX8

My Hope
-hillsong

You are righteous, You love justice
and those who honour You will see Your face
I will arise and lift my eyes
to see your majesty, Your holiness,
and all I am will bless You!

My hope is in the name of the lord
where my help comes from
You’re my Strength, my Song
my trust in the name of the Lord
I will sing your praise, You are faithful.

Psalm 139 (New International Version)
For the director of music. Of David. A psalm.

1 O LORD, you have searched me
and you know me.

2 You know when I sit and when I rise;
you perceive my thoughts from afar.

3 You discern my going out and my lying down;
you are familiar with all my ways.

4 Before a word is on my tongue
you know it completely, O LORD.

5 You hem me in—behind and before;
you have laid your hand upon me.

6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,
too lofty for me to attain.

7 Where can I go from your Spirit?
Where can I flee from your presence?

8 If I go up to the heavens, you are there;
if I make my bed in the depths, [a] you are there.

9 If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
if I settle on the far side of the sea,

10 even there your hand will guide me,
your right hand will hold me fast.

11 If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me
and the light become night around me,”

12 even the darkness will not be dark to you;
the night will shine like the day,
for darkness is as light to you.

13 For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.

14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.

15 My frame was not hidden from you
when I was made in the secret place.
When I was woven together in the depths of the earth,

16 your eyes saw my unformed body.
All the days ordained for me
were written in your book
before one of them came to be.

17 How precious to [b] me are your thoughts, O God!
How vast is the sum of them!

18 Were I to count them,
they would outnumber the grains of sand.
When I awake,
I am still with you.

….

23 Search me, O God, and know my heart;
test me and know my anxious thoughts.

24 See if there is any offensive way in me,
and lead me in the way everlasting.

