Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight (Proverbs 3:5-6 – New International Version)

Ever read a really, really good book? You’re into it … you’re thoroughly enjoying … you’re liking what you’re reading and then there comes  a twist… the final chapter is not quite what you expected. What you thought for sure was going to happen didn’t materialize and events you never dreamt up suddenly became the order of the day. You ask yourself how the author thought of such an ending and why the plot didn’t go in another direction. What was this author thinking? You’re almost at the last page and the questions are still not answered… How can this make sense? As you near the end, the light begins to dawn on you … there is bound to be a sequel!!! Your  anger and disappointment now turn to excitement as you start your search for the follow-up book.

We tend to  map our lives the way we want them to unfold. We have everything planned. It seems life is flowing the way we want it to and then the Author changes direction. You look at your own blue print and you realize things are no longer where you wanted them to be. The mileposts seem farther and farther away and there are fewer ‘checks’ on your to do list. The one year project is now two years behind and you seem to have lost the reins.

Have you come to the end of a chapter in your life? Did you think this was it? Were you hoping to find the answer? Are you still searching for your treasure? Angry? Disappointed? Confused? Need guidance on where to place your feet next?  Need a reason to be excited again? He wrote the book. He knows how to lead you!

Psalm 119:105 – Your word is a lamp to guide my feet and a light for my path. (New Living Translation – NLT)
Psalm 119:133 – Direct my footsteps according to your word; let no sin rule over me. (New International Version – NIV)
Psalm 37:23  – The LORD directs the steps of the godly. He delights in every detail of their lives. (NLT)

The good thing is, He already knows what’s around the bend.  He has already seen the end of the story!  Trust Him to take you past the hitches and over the hills and through the valleys.  There’s no place that you can go that He’s not already there!  He alone can take you safely through this and every other chapter of your life.

Right now, your reality may cause you pain. There may be thoughts of what could have been or where you went wrong or what could have been done differently. The good news is, you can start over anytime!  Things may seem out of place right now and you may not feel like moving forward. This is not the end! I encourage you to make the next step a step of faith. Your ideals may appear to have come to an abrupt end but the best is yet to come. Hope is not lost. Despair will not last forever. Weeping may endure for a night but joy comes in the morning! (Psalm 30:5)

It doesn’t matter where you have been or where you went wrong. Our God allows second chances. If you hear Him call today, please respond. There is hope for tomorrow. Those who know you best may wonder why you push on and you yourself may wonder why you even bother to try.  There are greater joys awaiting you. He still has your best interest at heart. He’s still concerned about every area of your life.  This is not the final chapter. It’s not at all over … it is to be continued!!

Father, thank You for the cross and the sacrifice that gives me the opportunity to come boldly to Your throne. Please wash me of all my sins and make me clean before You. Thank You for the plans You have for my life. I repent of trying to do things my own way. Today I lay all I am and all I hope and dream of becoming into Your hands. I trust that You will order my steps.  Rewrite my story so that all I do will bring You glory and honor.

Thank you for all the experiences in my life (even the not so pleasant ones), as they have all helped to shape my life. I recognize that there are experiences I do not wish to have but since I choose to trust You with everything, I release all to You so You can order my steps. Train my heart and my ears to listen to Your voice and teach me to walk in obedience. Thank You for Your faithfulness.  Amen

Blessings,

Ann

Toni R (c)

