Whiteout..Many are the plans in a man’s heart, but it is the LORD’s purpose that prevails. Proverbs 19:21 New International Version (NIV)
In recent times I found myself on the proverbial path to success. I had made significant changes to my schedule and was very, very happy with a path I had mapped out. I felt I was ready for the world and ready to take on anything!  Life was coming up roses and for once, all was right with the world.

My euphoria was short-lived. Not far into my journey I came across a roadblock. I tried moving it, tried praying it away, even tried imagining it wasn’t there but the roadblock just sat there and refused to budge. After a while, I became agitated and impatient. I knew God would move it in His time but for some strange reason, His timing wasn’t working with my schedule.

Weeks of seeking wise counsel, fasting, praying and bargaining with God netted zero change. I didn’t get it.  I was certain I was on the right path. Why was I not progressing? Was there something I had missed? Did I take a wrong turn? I revisited the events leading up to this point and felt fully confident that I was headed in the right direction. Why was I now stuck?

“It is often when your path is blocked that you realize you have (other) options”.  I stepped back for a while, turned the thought over in my head and decided kicking against the pricks wasn’t worth it. Although I had heard it many times before, it didn’t occur to me then that God speaks to us in different ways. Sometimes we’re unsure whether we are hearing from Him or whether we’re feeding our own thoughts. A great measurement for determining legitimacy is to line up what is spoken against His Word.

In terms of deciding where to go, I have come to the conclusion that this is time for me to rest. When I am at rest, I am in a better position to hear His voice. When I’m at rest,  He is able to show me other paths and directions I can take. When I am at rest I am less likely to do things my own way as I’m not in a hurry and I can listen for His voice. When I am at rest I can experience spiritual and physical rejuvenation. God still remains in control. As a Christian, I realize my destiny is in God’s hands but He gives us the option to make choices. I can choose to trust Him or I can choose to follow my own way. I can choose to spend the rest of my time chipping away at this roadblock or I can choose to seek another path.  I get to decide whether I move forward or stand still.

When we say to God “I will go where You lead”, He takes us seriously. I can’t think of the number of times I have said/sang to Him “not my will but Thine, O Lord” … He so wants to order our steps!  There are many verses in the Bible that speaks to God’s ability to direct our lives and order our steps. Sometimes it seems it is easier to read them than to live them.

A roadblock may be God’s way of directing you to your destiny. Joseph was sold by his brothers, rescued by strangers, admired by authority, deceived by a liar, favoured by a jailer, restored by God and later reunited with his family (Genesis 37 to 44). His story would likely have been different if he had not come across a roadblock.  God handles our roadblocks in different ways:-

  • Sometimes God takes us over the roadblock: – The LORD God is my strength, and he will make my feet like hinds’ feet, and he will make me to walk upon mine high places. Habakkuk 3:19 – King James Version.
  • Sometimes He takes us along another path: –  In his heart a man plans his course, but the LORD determines his steps. – Proverbs 16:9 – NIV.
  • Sometimes He gives us time for rest before the next step: – I will lie down and sleep in peace, for you alone, O LORD, make me dwell in safety. Psalm 4:8  He makes me lie down in green pastures, He leads me beside quiet waters, He restores my soul. He guides me in paths of righteousness for His name’s sake.- Psalm 23: 2-3NIV.

It is important to know what to do and when to do it… Where are you on your path to destiny? Have you decided to take a rest at a time you should be running in another direction? Are you wasting time, effort and energy trying to move a boulder when God has equipped you to walk over it? Are you pushing against His will and trying to force your way into a dead end? Is it time for you to lay your cares on Him and find safe rest in His will?

Blessings

Ann

Father, You alone are sovereign and there’s nothing about our lives that escapes Your loving eyes. When we listen to Your voice and obey Your directions life can be so much easier on us. Teach us to hear Your voice. Teach us to listen. Teach us to obey. We often like to see the picture as a whole but sometimes all You give is enough vision for the next frame.  Teach us to trust You.
In the beginning You saw us and everything we would ever be. Thank You for Your unconditional love towards us and for the opportunity to spend eternity in Your presence. (John 3:16)

Toni R (c)

