I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Psalm 139:14a
(New International Version)

My inspiration today comes from the word of God spoken from the mouth of a man I met yesterday. His name is Nick Vujicic and  he was born without limbs.

Psalm 139 is my favourite passage in the whole Bible but yesterday it took on new meaning. As I listened to him share his life experiences and his testimony of the goodness of God, I began to realize how ungrateful we can become – even without consciously thinking about our behaviors and attitudes. When things go the way we want we’re happy and we offer praise to God easily because our lives are now running on the track we have charted. When things go against our wishes and desires, we despair, throw our hands in the air and roll over and die. Everything around us screams “there has got to be more to life than this!!”

And there is!! “I praise you for I am fearfully and wonderfully made”…. the things about me I may not like… my height, my weight, my hair, my eyes… all part of a great masterpiece. “Fearfully and wonderfully made” … not an accident. Not a fluke. Not by chance. Divinely designed. “Fearfully and wonderfully made”… even when I don’t feel like it. Even when I wish I was taller or shorter or fatter or thinner or a different personality type.  “Fearfully and wonderfully made”... In the right time for His purpose… to accomplish His will.

He made you and I  the way He did for a reason. He chose the family we should be born in and the exact time and date we would be born. He lined up people and places and circumstances so  we would get here when we did. He knew all the teachers we would have, all the friends we would make, all the things  we could do to help make life easier for someone else.  He saw ‘all the the days of our lives before one of them came to be’.  He already knew the situations we would face in life and He has already provided a way for us to get through them. All the parts come together to fulfill His purpose!!

We do simple things without thinking. Like saying “I don’t like the colour of my hair” without realizing not only do we have hair, we are able to see it and we’re able to speak our minds … some things are not as common as we think. As the old song says “to some folks, these things would mean a lot” !!   Am I perfect? Not at all. Are there things about me that need to be remedied? Certainly!  Do I have a reason to be thankful? Absolutely!! Does He still have a plan for me ? Oh yes!!! I get to decide whether I trust Him to lead me or whether I choose to go my own way. (Experience has proven that the latter does not work!!)

I will praise Him. I chose to be thankful. The practical for me is to list every good thing in my life that I am thankful for. Every good thing that I’ve ever received, whether or  not I thought I was deserving of it. From the simple to the complicated … from  finding the other earring I thought was lost forever to closing a real estate  deal the day before interest rates soared. From having a choice of meals to having a family who loves and cares for me.  His goodness is all around me. I will take the time to acknowledge His hand in my life and to give Him thanks and praise. What are you thankful for? Why do you give Him praise?

Father, I thank you that I am fearfully and wonderfully made! I thank you that you know everything about me . You saw me at the beginning of time and you arranged all the pieces of the puzzle to fall in place the way they did so that I could be here now, in this time as a testimony of Your faithfulness, Your goodness and Your grace. I realize things may not always go the way I want them to, but I also realize that You are still in charge of my destiny. I thank You for the way You made me. I thank You for the family You placed me in and for the friends You’ve given to me. May my ears always be open to Your voice and may  I always be willing to go where You send because my desire is to live Your purpose for my life.  I may not always understand all the things You do concerning me but I will trust. I am thankful for Your hand in my life and I will praise You for I am fearfully and wonderfully made!!

[For more on Nick Vujicic and the work he does, please visit http://www.lifewithoutlimbs.org ]

Toni R

(c)

