I will bless the Lord at all times... Psalm 34:1b

Blessing the Lord does not always come easy.  It’s easier to map our praise and thanksgiving with our moods. If all is well, we gladly offer praise and thanksgiving. When we face obstacles, the sacrifice  tends to be harder to come  by. God knew the days we would have therefore  He has made provisions in His word.

Ecclesiastes 7:14
says “When times are good, be happy; but when times are bad, consider: God has made the one as well as the other. Therefore, a man cannot discover anything about his future.” ( New International Version – NIV). My understanding of this verse is that God allows good things to happen but he also allows bad things to happen to us as well. We must depend on Him because we do not know what’s going to come next … if we did, we would not need Him!

Still, this does not make it easy for us to be thankful during dismal times. It’s hard to watch the family home go up in smoke or listen to a bad report from a doctor or watch a loved one suffer from the pain of bad choices. We often want to fix things and it’s easy to get angry when things don’t go the way we wanted them to. The word says we should “give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.1 Thess 5:18 NIV. It also says we should  “Speak to one another with psalms, hymns and spiritual songs. Sing and make music in your heart to the Lord, always giving thanks to God the Father for everything, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ. – Eph 5:19-20 – NIV

Things may not go the way I want them to go but I have a choice. I can choose to bless the Lord, regardless or I can choose to look through human eyes and try to fix them myself. But I am human … it’s logical to want things the way I want them. It’s logical to call it quits when life goes against the course I planned. It’s easier to throw in the towel and call it a day but I choose to bless Him. I choose to trust Him. I choose to obey.

The place you now find yourself in may be the worst you could ever imagine. Hopelessness and despair may seem to be the only choices you have.   Please be reminded that  our God has already worked out the answer. No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it 1Cor 10:13 – NIV. As hard as it may seem, as long as you have life, you can choose.   Will you trust Him to deliver you today?

Father, thank You for your promises concerning my life. I realize things may not always go the way I want them to but I know that You are in control … regardless. I am not happy with all that is around me but I choose to believe that You are still in charge and that You do not make mistakes. Please teach me how to be thankful in all things, how to “be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer” despite what goes on around me.
I thank You for Your unconditional love and for Your blessings towards me. I will bless You. I will praise You. I choose to trust You to walk with me through this!

Blessings,
Toni R

(c)

