“I create the blacksmith  who fires up his forge and makes a weapon designed to kill.
I also create the destroyer— but no weapon that can hurt you has ever been forged…”

Isaiah 54:16-17b (The Message Version)

I once found myself in a place where there was a need for concern for my physical safety. In the midst of the storm I felt vulnerable and afraid. The scripture most forefront on my mind was not ‘for me to live is Christ and to die is gain’ – Phil 1:21 but rather a prayer for deliverance.  I realized my help could come from nowhere else and was determined to trust Him for His salvation.

The danger I was concerned about came from a physical weapon. A man-made weapon with the capacity to destroy. It was hard not to think about what might have happened but I’m thankful that God chose a different ending. I’m confident an early end would have ushered me into His eternal presence but I get the feeling He’s not yet done with me here on earth.

God heard the fervent prayers we whispered to Him and provided a way of escape.  Although I was eventually removed from the situation, I was concerned for the safety of those who had been with me and found myself thinking and praying about those who had been left behind.  As I sought peace in the Word, I was led to Isaiah 54.  I know verse 17 by heart  ( No weapon formed against you shall prosper and every tongue that rises up in judgment you will refute…) I’ve known it for years and years but verse 16 sprung right off the page.

As I read and reread, the following points were highlighted to me.

  • Weapons can harm – v17
  • The weapon was forged through flames – v 16
  • The blacksmith fanned the flames to make the fire that forged the weapon – v 16
  • God created the blacksmith that fanned the flames that made the fire that forged the weapon – v 16
  • God made the destroyer  with a purpose to destroy (v16) BUT
  • No weapon that is formed against me shall prosper!! (v17)

The weapon being used against you may not be physical or visible but God’s promises remains the same. He is still with you and will never leave nor forsake (Joshua 1:5b). Even in the midst of what seems unbearable and impossible,  He’s still God!  The situation may appear hopeless and the end may not be in sight but we have a hope in Him.  His vision is complete and nothing can change that. His plans for us include a future with hope! (Jeremiah 29:11).

Father, I am thankful that Your arms are not short. I am thankful that there are no mistakes where You are concerned. We may not always understand why we face the issues we have to deal with but we know that You are in control and we trust You with everything. Help us to trust You in the midst of whatever we face. We thank You for Your faithfulness and we give You all the glory, honor and praise – regardless.

Blessings,

Ann

Tonir (c)

