For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord. Romans 8:38 – New International Version (NIV)

Life is fraught with issues. Accidents. Disasters. Sickness. Pain. Anger. Disappointment. The list goes on. And Christians are not exempt either. Troubles will come. Psalm 27:5 shows that. It also shows that we will be safe in His dwelling, hidden in  His tabernacle. (For in the day of trouble He will keep me safe in His dwelling; He will hide me in the shelter of His tabernacle and set me high upon a rock.)

The scriptures are filled with records of those who have suffered death, injury or other losses even though they trusted in God. Perhaps the most popular is Job. Described by God in Job chapter 2 as ” …blameless and upright, a man who fears God and shuns evil. And he still maintains his integrity”. Job lost family and possessions yet He remained steadfast. Was this because he was hidden in (God’s) tabernacle?

Whatever we face today does not pose an impossibility to God. Proverbs 21:1 says “The king’s heart is in the hand of the LORD; he directs it like a watercourse wherever he pleases.” We need not fear what man can do to us.  Hurricanes, floods, lightening strikes, earthquakes, storms and the likes can deliver terrible blows. Damaged crops, dead livestock, property destroyed…all this can paint a bleak picture of what’s ahead. Yet in all this He says we are more than conquerors and nothing can pluck us from His hands. There is no tornado or hurricane or oil spill or raging fire powerful enough to separate us from His love!

The issues we face may rattle the very core of our trust and  appear to shake the foundation of our faith but if our anchor is steadfast in Him we have His promise of security and this security goes beyond the present age. My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one can snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand. St John 10:27-29

We don’t always understand why we face the trials and testings we face. We don’t necessarily invite them upon ourselves either.  I’m yet to meet someone who welcomes the pain of disappointment or yearns for a broken heart. Most of us would hope life would be kind to us and that we would avoid the things that bring us grief. Yet in this midst of life’s brokenness,  hurt and sorrow, we have His promise that He will be with us. It doesn’t give us a detour around heartache but it gives us hope and fuels our resolve to walk through our situation. Whatever you face today may be the biggest mountain you have ever climbed but step forward with the assurance that you are not alone. You have His promise that He is with you and nothing can ever separate you from His love!

Father, thank you for the present circumstance in which I find myself. I may not like the situation but it’s teaching me how to trust You more. I lay ALL at your feet confident that knowing the storms that howl about me are not enough to tear me from your grasp.  I thank You for the assurance that nothing can separate me from Your love.  I pray for Your continued protection through every storm of life and ask that You would help me to trust You to walk with me through this valley. You created my body and there is nothing that threatens my health that You are not aware of. You know all about the friends and family … You have placed in my life therefore I can trust You to take care of them. I am Yours, Lord and nothing shall separate me from your love.

Blessings,

Ann

Toni R (c)

