Praise the Lord. Praise God in His sanctuary; praise Him in His mighty heavens. Praise Him for His acts of power; praise Him for His surpassing greatness. Praise Him with the sounding of the trumpet, praise Him with the harp and lyre, praise Him with tambourine and dancing, praise Him with the strings and flute, praise Him with the clash of cymbals,  praise Him with resounding cymbals.  Let everything that has breath praise the Lord. Praise the Lord. Psalm 150 – New International Version

I did not leap out of bed giving glory and praise to God this morning. As a matter of fact, I didn’t want to get out of bed at all. I felt today would have been a perfect stay-in-bed-and-do-nothing day. I slept through the alarm,  woke up on my own, got out of bed on my own yet never contemplated Psalm 150 for a moment.

As I raced around the house trying to catch up on the lost time it began to dawn on me that I had not spent any quality time with God let alone given praise to Him. I was more consumed with getting my day on track than I was with starting it out the right way.  It’s not always convenient to spend quality time in His presence but it should never have been about convenience in the first place!

I have breath. That qualifies it.  It always seems easier to find the time to ‘ask, seek and knock’  than it is to find time to praise. I can zip through the day on my own schedule trying  to catch all the deadlines or I can start my day with Him. Time spent is His presence is time well spent.

How did you start your day this morning? Did you leap out of bed with a song of praise?  Are you still trying to figure out whether to get up or pull the covers over your head? I cannot guarantee you that if you start with a praise your day will be perfect but I can assure you that starting off your day with Him is the very best start you can have!! It’s never too late for a start over, either.  The next move is yours 🙂

Father, thank You for Your faithfulness.  I praise You for all You have done for me and for all You have in store today. I repent of taking matters into my own hands and running off without checking in with You. I ask that You would be with me today as I go through each process. When things are going well, remind me to praise You. When things are not going well, remind me to praise You as well.  I praise You with all I have and with all I am. I thank You for life and breath. Be glorified in my life today. Amen

