Precious in the sight of the LORD is the death of his saints. Psalm 116:5 (New International Version)

I’ve been to many funerals but there was something very different about the last one I attended. The departed had 5 adult children and each expressed their thoughts about their mother. What struck me most was that they all said the same thing … their mother was a devout child of God and followed Jesus with all her heart. When her children made the decision to follow Christ, they did so because of the example their mother had set. She did not lead them to Christ, she lived a Christ-filled life and this encouraged her children to seek after what she had found.

Of course I began to think about my own life. Did my talk match my walk? If this were my funeral would the same things have been said about me? Better yet, now that I am alive and have opportunities to reach others, what are they reading from the pages of the book of my life?  What do my words write on their heart? What do my actions teach them about Christ?  Is the way I live giving my colleagues a reason to seek Christ? Do my neighbours see Christ when I open my doors? Do I speak like Him when I open my mouth?

While I have a responsibility to live a life that will cause others to praise God –  “In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.” Matthew 5:16  NIV –   I believe I have a greater responsibility to “live a life worthy of the Lord and … please Him in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God” Col 1:10 – NIV. Unless my motives are right and unless Christ is pleased with my offering, all is in vain.  The life I live will amount to nothing if I have not lived a life that counts. Legions of angels cannot carry me to my Father’s side if I never lived a life worthy of His calling.

Father, thank You for those who have poured into our lives. Thank You for the gift of salvation and the opportunity You’ve given us to become Your sons and daughters.  May the lives we live be pleasing in Your sight and may we lead others to share the joy we have in You. Help us to live lives worthy of Your calling.  Lord, we tend to be concerned about what others think about us …  help us to be more concerned about living lives that honor you.   Teach us to act justly, show mercy and walk humbly with You , O God.

At the end of this life, all that will matter is whether or not we pleased You. Please help us to live each day with this in mind.  Amen

A prayer for salvation.
Dear Jesus, thank you for dying on the cross for me. I am sorry for all the wrongs I have done. Please forgive  my sins. I ask you to come into my heart right now. I give you full control of my life. Help me to walk according to Your will from this day forward. In your name I pray. Amen.
Toni R (c)
Blessings,
Ann
