Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. Put on the full armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the saints. Pray also for me, that whenever I open my mouth, words may be given me so that I will fearlessly make known the mystery of the gospel, for which I am an ambassador in chains. Pray that I may declare it fearlessly, as I should. Ephesians 6: 10-20   (New International Version)

If I have an event to attend, I make sure to get my outfit together the night before otherwise I will spend precious minutes spinning my wheels trying to find ‘the look’ I have in mind.  When I shift my focus to my spiritual attire,  I’m not always that on the ball. It seems it’s much easier to run out spiritually under-dressed.

God already knows what’s coming down the pipeline. He has made provisions to help us through each situation we’ll encounter. He knows we will have opportunities to distort the truth to save face.   He knows we will need to guard our hearts against painful experiences. He knows there will be times when we will need to back away from explosive situations. He knows there will be circumstances that attempt to shake the foundation of what we believe. He knows we will have moments when we feel less than saved. He knows we will have reason to quote His word back to Him. The good thing is, He  has put in place all we need to make it through each day.

We get to choose whether we run into each situation unprepared or under-dressed. We get to decide whether we suit up as He instructs  and save ourselves heartache and pain.  How we react to the daily challenges depend a lot on how we’re dressed. So … what are you wearing?

Lord, I thank You that we have ample protection as outlined in Your holy scriptures. I have no clue what’s ahead of me but You see the beginning and the end as one. In my haste to greet the challenges of the new day I sometimes run ahead leaving my armour behind. Please help me to cover myself as per Your design.  Today I choose to dress to please You, to pray always and to be alert. I know You have my back therefore I will not fear but will trust in Your promise that You are always with me (Matthew 28:20). Amen

Toni R (c)

Blessings

Ann

