In His heart a man plans His course but the Lord determines His steps. Proverbs 16:9
Many are the plans in a man’s heart but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails. Proverbs 19:21
If the Lord delights in a man’s way He makes his steps firm – Psalm 37:23

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. – Jeremiah 29:11

(New International Version)

When I was much younger, I had a defined chart of what my life was going to be like. I decided when I wanted to get married, when I was going to have children, what my dream career was going to be, where I was going to live and so on. Years later, my chart has been absorbed by reality and I now realize my dreams had never been cast in concrete. As a matter of fact, most of my experiences look nothing like I imagined they would.

When I made a decision to follow Christ, I gave Him the all-clear to order my steps. That meant that my list was now open to His reshuffling and reshuffle He did!   Even though I chose to place it all in His hands, I didn’t always receive His reordering with thanksgiving and praise… There were times when I hoped and prayed He would follow my plans but instead He chose to lead me otherwise. The detour sign had a reason and purpose.  I choose to believe that He works all things together for my good.

Things I yearned for have been lovingly pushed out of my reach and blessings I never dreamed about have been poured over me time and time again. I choose not to wonder about what might have been but I choose to be thankful instead. God has really been good to me. I don’t know what tomorrow holds but I’m confident He’s already there. I’m not going to waste another moment wondering what I’ve missed out on while blessings are passing me by!

My life may not have followed the route I mapped out but ‘so what’?  When He reordered my steps, He led me down paths I wouldn’t have dreamed of following. His direction has opened doors to  favour, friendships, family and so much more! His plans may have been different from what I had in mind but I’ll take His direction over mine any day!

If you haven’t already done so, consider handing over the over the reins to Him today. I cannot guarantee that life will be pain-free but I can guarantee that He is more than able to take care of you.  The road He takes you along may seem inconvenient at times, but this inconvenience could be the tool that pulls you closer to Him. Are you willing to trust Him to provide you with ‘inconvenient blessings’?

Father, You are indeed all-knowing. Absolutely nothing about us takes You by surprise. That’s cool! I’m thankful that my life is in Your hands.  Please continue to order my steps. Things may not always go the way I want but I trust You to direct my path even when it seems inconvenient to me. Be glorified in my circumstances always. Amen

Toni R (c)

Blessings,

Ann

