Samuel did what the LORD said. When he arrived at Bethlehem, the elders of the town trembled when they met him. They asked, “Do you come in peace?” 5 Samuel replied, “Yes, in peace; I have come to sacrifice to the LORD. Consecrate yourselves and come to the sacrifice with me.” Then he consecrated Jesse and his sons and invited them to the sacrifice.  6 When they arrived, Samuel saw Eliab and thought, “Surely the LORD’s anointed stands here before the LORD.”  7 But the LORD said to Samuel, “Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The LORD does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.” 1 Samuel 16:4-7 (New King James Version)

Have you taken a hit lately? Have you been so certain you were doing the right thing with the right motive yet the results weren’t quite what you expected?  How difficult is it to smile in the face of disappointment while you die on the inside? God sees the heart….

We may be able to parade a perfect life in front of our families, friends and others. We may fool them into thinking all is well when we desperately need a hand. We may be able to laugh in the face of danger while pretending life’s a peach, but God sees the heart.

Pain and disappointment appear to be part and parcel of this business of life. They’re right up there with joy and satisfaction, success and sorrow, hope and frustration. We may all handle the effects in different ways and may even be able to fool the crowd, but God sees the heart.

It’s impossible to hide our true feelings from our Father. Our best move is to ‘fess up’ and allow Him to heal our hearts and point us in the right direction. Easier said than done, sometimes, but definitely easier than walking around under the weight of all that has gone wrong. Covering up is not the answer. We can hide the truth from each other, but God sees the heart.

Misunderstood? Mistreated? Misrepresented? God sees the heart! True healing can only come when we allow Him to take full control. If you’ve been holding back, I would encourage you to give it all to Him today. He knows how much we can handle. We can pretend as much as we want with others but there’s no fooling the One who created your inmost being and knit you together in your mothers’ womb. (Psalm 139:13)

Are you faced with making a relationship decision? Unsure of what direction you need to take? Ask God to reveal to you the things you need to know.  You can only see the outward appearance … only God sees the heart.

Father, there is absolutely no one like You! I am thankful that my life is open to Your loving eyes. I confess it is not always easy to face reality but I trust You with all that I am. Please help me to always be honest before You and to trust You even when I cannot see the point. Help me to be alert and aware of what is around me and to guard my heart with all due diligence since it determines the source of my life (Proverbs 4:23). Help me to make the right decisions where relationships are concerned. Help me to trust Your direction. I may see another’s face and actions but only You can see their heart! Amen.

Blessings,

Ann
Toni R (c)

