As long as the earth endures, seedtime and harvest, cold and heat, summer and winter, day and night will never cease. Genesis 8:22 (New International Version)

The end of a matter is better than its beginning, and patience is better than pride. Ecclesiastes 7:8 (New International Version)

As a child, I managed to convince my mother to allow me to plant a peanut in her flower garden. She consented and explained the process to me:  I could plant the seed, it would take some time to germinate, a plant would come forth, small yellow blossoms would appear and sometime afterwards it would be time to harvest.

I was happy with the rules and excitedly went a-planting.

I planted and waited. After what seemed like eternity, the plant came up and in weeks, the yellow blossoms came. During the time from the planting to the blossom I was more or less okay but then I started getting anxious and kept asking whether it was time to reap. Each time I asked, the response was still the same… “no, not yet”. I was not happy. I kept asking over and over and over again. Eventually, she gave me the go ahead to do as I pleased. Of course, I ran straight to the garden and pulled the plant from the ground. I was not prepared for the shock of my life. Sure, there were peanuts … but they were nothing like I expected.  I had harvested too early. They were greenish in colour and had not been fully developed. My attempt at replanting them made no difference. Within days they had wilted and died. I was so close but I let impatience rob me of a reward.

I can’t count the number of times I’ve bugged God for a ‘right now’ answer even though He had asked me to wait and trust Him.  I’ve gone back to Him time and time again wanting Him to give me the go ahead and when I couldn’t wait any longer, I went ahead and reaped a premature harvest.  Sometimes He’s been gracious and has offered redemption after I hastily returned my error to Him. At other times I have had to suffer the consequences of my disobedience and my unwillingness to trust His hand.

Maybe today you’re seeing blossoms and you’re getting ready to wield your sickle. If it’s not time to reap, you could be setting yourself up for failure.  The blossom is a promise of fruit but in itself does not satisfy.  You may feel you can’t wait a few more days, weeks or months but you’ve come this far. How about hanging on just a little bit longer?  The fruit of the Spirit is … patience… (Galatians 5:22) You may be only one step away from His perfection. Don’t move until He gives the okay.

Father, Your perfect timing is simply perfect. Your timing does not always line up with my plans but I know enough to know that I should trust the unfolding of Your design even when I’m ‘sure’ I have it right.  When I’m seeking You for something I need now, it’s often hard to wait on You but please order my steps and teach me to trust Your hand especially when it seems long in coming. Help me not to eat my blossoms but to wait on the fullness of Your timing. A harvest does not come from overnight efforts. I will trust You to take me through the complete process.

Amen

Blessings,
ann

Toni R
(c)

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

