Boaz asked the foreman of his harvesters, “Whose young woman is that?”  The foreman replied, “She is the Moabitess who came back from Moab with Naomi.  She said, ‘Please let me glean and gather among the sheaves behind the harvesters.’ She went into the field and has worked steadily from morning till now, except for a short rest in the shelter.”  So Boaz said to Ruth, “My daughter, listen to me. Don’t go and glean in another field and don’t go away from here. Stay here with my servant girls. Watch the field where the men are harvesting, and follow along after the girls. I have told the men not to touch you. And whenever you are thirsty, go and get a drink from the water jars the men have filled.” Ruth 2:5-9(New International Version)

After the death of her husband and her father in-law, Ruth chose to stay with her mother-in-law, Naomi. Their journey took them to Bethlehem and to the field of the influential Boaz. Their timing took them there at the beginning of the harvest and Ruth continued to do what was natural for her. She went straight to work, picking up leftover grain so they could have something to eat. As she went about her business, she had no idea Boaz, the owner of the field was watching her and making provisions for her. (He later instructed his workers to purposefully leave extra grain in the field so Ruth could find all she needed.)

Life sometimes throws us curve-balls, like the ones Ruth found herself facing. She could have decided to serve her own interests but she chose to stay with Naomi. In the midst of serving this widow, Boaz saw Ruth and she found favour in his eyes.

We tend to dislike the joyless journeys. We tend to prefer days when the hand of God is clearly over us and all His plans are unfolding the way we expected. Ruth had to deal with the sorrow and pain of being a widow yet she chose the path of service. The path you have to walk today may be just as difficult for you but I would encourage you to joyfully serve so that you may find favour in the eyes of Boaz.  Boaz is watching you! Your Boaz may be your immediate supervisor, a prospective employer, your professor;  your future spouse or anyone else in a position to positively influence your transition.

Life may not be what you envisioned but still serve as unto God and not unto man.  While you serve the Lord with all you have, may Boaz take notice of you and may the evidence of God’s favour be seen  all over your life. Your reward will be worth the present sacrifices.

Father, I am extremely grateful for the many times you have showed me favour simply because I have been obedient to you. I am also aware that there are times I have walked away from being Boaz to someone.  Please forgive me. I pray that You will help me to do well in whatever You ask me to do and that I will find favour in Your sight. I pray that You will also open my eyes to those around us with genuine needs and to extend hope even as Boaz did for Ruth. My life is in Your hands and all I am, all I have, all I earn is Yours.

Blessings,
ann

Toni R
(c)

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

