Now it happened on the third day that Esther put on her royal robes and stood in the inner court of the king’s palace, across from the king’s house, while the king sat on his royal throne in the royal house, facing the entrance of the house. So it was, when the king saw Queen Esther standing in the court, that she found favour in his sight, and the king held out to Esther the golden scepter that was in his hand. Then Esther went near and touched the top of the scepter.  And the king said to her, “What do you wish, Queen Esther? What is your request? It shall be given to you—up to half the kingdom!” Esther 5:1-3 (Message Version)

Queen Esther had reason to approach King Ahasuerus. The lives of her people appeared to be hanging in the balance. Intervention was needed and it was needed quickly if disaster would be averted.  The human side of Esther hesitated … if one approached the king without being summoned, death could be the unfortunate outcome. Still, Esther needed the king to act in her favour so she took the plunge and went to plead her case.

Those in authority can sometimes appear intimidating. We may not want to approach them lest we lose favour.  We may feel we’re better off ‘minding our own business’ especially if the perceived danger is not on our doorsteps. It may make us feel safer if we just do our thing and keep out of everybody else’s way but as Christians, we have a responsibility to speak up for what is right.

Easier said than done … I know. I’m not pretending this is a walk in the park either. Esther and her team took this issue seriously and went into preparation before she attempted to approach the King. As you prepare for the next move, I pray you will find favour even as Esther did, that truth would be revealed and that justice would be served.

What barriers are you facing today? Has Haman set a trap for you? Are you worried that speaking up may cause you to lose your job?  Your friends? Your popularity?  Proverbs 21:1 teaches that the king’s heart is in the hands of the Lord and He directs it wherever He pleases. He is able to grant favour even in the most impossible of circumstances.

Father, there are days I feel like burying my head in the sand. I get tired of the unkind and unfair treatment of others but instead of stepping forward, I sometimes fade into the crowd … ashamed of letting my voice be heard. As Your child, it is my Christian duty to love as You loved … and sometimes love means gentle but firm. Sometimes it means being unpopular. Sometimes it means I’m the only one on this side of the fence. Help me to speak up for truth and justice. Help me to be bold enough to step forward even when the odds are against me. I can do nothing by myself. I trust You to direct and lead me and to put the right words in my mouth at the right time. If You give the okay, I know You will work it all out for my good.

Amen

Blessings,
ann

Toni R
(c)

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

