Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.  In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths. Proverbs 3: 5-6

Sometime ago I sought prayer for a new job I was contemplating. The person who prayed with me, prayed that God would lead me “where I would be most effective for Him”. At the time, it seemed like an odd prayer to pray but my heart found peace and I left my concerns with the Lord. Mere weeks after receiving this prayer, God took my life in a totally different direction and I found myself filling a role I never imagined I could have ever taken on.

I walked through a period of on the job training, learning tips and strategies along the way. After a while, the process became as easy as breathing and I found myself heading into the days without giving the situation a second thought. As I learnt to trust, my fear gave way to faith and God’s grace took care of my anxiety. Not only was I now doing what was required, I was doing it better than expected. Looking back, I believe that given the chance, I would have politely declined the venture but God ordered my steps in that direction to teach me to trust Him.

What is your heart yearning to do? Is the Lord leading you away from what seems obvious? Are you where you will be most effective in ministry? Is there something else you could be doing for Him? Some assignments stretch us beyond our level of comfort but when we get to the place where we can no longer rely on our own strengths, God is already there waiting to carry us.

Psalm 139 tells us there is no place that we can go to hide from Him. If we somehow find ourselves at the last point on earth, He’s already there! What’s more, He has made provision for us so that our journeys will be easier  … we just need to trust Him to do what He has promised.

This week I will spend time seeking the Lord for the next steps in my life. Perhaps we could pray for each other as we seek His direction for the days and weeks and months ahead. A friend once told me that when we ask God to help with the tiny things, the big issues end up being taken care of as well.  Today I choose to trust Him to show me the next steps.

Father, I am thankful that You are in full control of everything that concerns me. I am thankful that You have given me Your word that You will never leave me. I am thankful for all the promises in Your word that if I trust, You will lead. My desire is to live a life that is pleasing in Your eyes – not only does this mean that I will walk in truth, but it also means that I will follow where You lead. The prayer of my heart today is that I will fulfil the destiny to which You have called me and that my walk with You will inspire others to seek relationship with You.

Amen

Blessings,
ann

Toni R
(c)

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

