A friend loves at all times, and becomes a brother in times of trouble. Proverbs 17:17

Today was shaping up to be a perfect day. I had a list of things to do and had a perfect schedule of how my perfect plans were going to unfold. I rose with the dawn and put the finishing touches on my master list. I must confess that I was very, very pleased. I just knew it was going to be a great day.

Not far into the morning, the call came. Someone we knew needed help and needed it right away. I hurriedly dropped my perfect plan and took off immediately.  When someone you love needs help, everything else pales in significance.

Many hours passed before I had a chance to revisit my original plans. My perfect day had fallen through and my list was right there waiting for me.  I barely made it home in time for bed but at the end of it all, I was happy I had the chance to make a difference.  Opportunities come along ever so often but the choice is ours. A friend loves at all times….

I’ve decided I will let this list go. At the beginning of each day I try to spend time with my Father and I seek His guidance for the day. Sometimes when He leads us away from our own plans, it’s because He has greater things for us to accomplish.  Shelving a plan may cause some inconvenience now but if it helps to make someone else’s load lighter, it will surely be worth it.

If you feel your day going in a direction you didn’t anticipate, it could be because Papa has plans for your day. Sometimes it’s a tough call but I’m learning to hear His voice above everything else. I’ve decided pleasing Him is better than trying to fill my own agenda.

Father, I am thankful that You love me. Sometimes I go way off base but yet You find something in me that I can use to benefit others.   My life is in Your hands and You order my steps. I choose to believe that You are in full control and that nothing takes You off schedule. I may not always understand but I choose to follow Your lead. I cannot count the number of times You have sent human help in my hour of need. I’m thankful for their obedience and I ask that You would help me to be sensitive to the times You call me to action. May You be glorified in all I do.

Amen

Blessings,
ann

Toni R
(c)

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

