For this reason, since the day we heard about you, we have not stopped praying for you. We continually ask God to fill you with the knowledge of His will through all the wisdom and understanding that the Spirit gives,  so that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and please Him in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God,  being strengthened with all power according to His glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience, and giving joyful thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of His holy people in the kingdom of light. For He has rescued us from the dominion of darkness and brought us into the kingdom of the Son He loves, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins. (Colossians 1:9-12)

This passage embodies a truly great  prayer. It’s good to know you are loved and cared for and that someone is keeping you covered! I can’t recall a time in my life when I couldn’t find someone trustworthy to share my heart with.  (There were times I chose not to interact with others but God had strategically placed people around me to help me on my journey.  They were praying for me even though I had chosen the solo path.) God has been faithful to me.

In our weekly prayer today,  reference was made to those who had guided and supported our Christian walk over the years. It got me to thinking about someone dear I had planned to visit nine years ago this week. Unfortunately, circumstances changed and I never got a chance to make the journey. Less than three months later, she unexpectedly went home to be with our Lord. I think about her often and how much she meant to me and the many times I heard her pray and sing to her God. I thought of her a lot today as we sang one of her favourite hymns. She had truly found a Friend in Jesus. She was a positive influence indeed.

As you think back over your life, can you pinpoint one or two or three persons who have always been there for you?  Always praying for you? Always encouraging and supporting you? How much better has your life been because of their influence?  Proverbs 27:17 says as iron sharpens iron so does one (friend) strengthen another… Today you may feel strong enough and sharp enough to take on whatever comes. You’re probably having your mountain top experience as we speak. Prayerfully ask God to show you someone who could do with a bit of sharpening today.

Perhaps you can’t find one who has been there for you. Perhaps your journey has been hard and painful but now you have found Truth! Think about those around you… For whom can you pray this prayer today? Can you think of one who needs lifting up? One who has been struggling with issues lately? One who’s on the verge of giving up? A person standing alone can be attacked and defeated, but two can stand back-to-back and conquer. Three are even better, for a triple-braided cord is not easily broken. (Ecclesiastes 4:12)

Perhaps you haven’t found peace yet. Maybe you’re in a place where you just can’t go one more step and you feel like calling it a day, I pray God would send someone to support you, or better yet, that He Himself would be a shield about you, that He would pour His glory upon you and lift your head high. (Psalm 3:3) He is there, ready and waiting to receive you.  Will you trust Him with your life?

If possible today,  connect with someone who’s been there for you.  Let them know how much you appreciate all they’ve poured into your life and thank them for being obedient to the leading of the Holy Spirit.  If you can, do take a moment to encourage someone in their walk with God. You may not see it today, you may not hear of it tomorrow but your influence is far reaching. You get to decide whether you plant positive seeds in the hearts of those whose paths you cross.

Father, I’m thankful for the people who have been positive influences in my life. I thank You for those who prayed for me even as I wondered through desert experiences searching for that which only You could provide. Pour back into them even as they have poured into me.  I pray today that Your hand would be upon those who call You Lord. I pray that you would strengthen and guide us as we follow You. “We … ask You to fill us with the knowledge of Your  will through all the wisdom and understanding that the Spirit gives,  so that we may live a life worthy of You and please You in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of who You are,  being strengthened with all power according to Your  glorious might so that we may have great endurance and patience, and giving joyful thanks to You, who have qualified us to share in the inheritance of Your holy people in the kingdom of light.”

Amen

Blessings,
ann

Toni R
(c)

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

