If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me and the light become night around me,” even the darkness will not be dark to You; the night will shine like the day, for darkness is as light to You. Psalm 139:11-12

I happened to look through one of the cabin windows while on a recent night flight. It was as dark as dark gets except for dots of light that were barely visible against the velvety darkness.   Even though I had flown over this area many times, I could not make out a single land-mark.  The darkness offered little distinction between land and water.  The spots of light could easily have been ships at sea, a house in the countryside or a light tower.  As I peered into the inky expanse, two thoughts crossed my mind. The first was that the darkness offered such a covering… one could do whatever one wanted ‘and no one would ever find out’. Immediately, the second thought followed – God could see everything and anything that I had done,  yet He chose to love me anyway!

Darkness restricts our vision … it is not so with our Father.  He knows exactly what we’re up to and where we’re heading –  “even the darkness becomes light to Him.” Nothing is hidden from Him. Nothing can be a secret as far as He is concerned.  “For whatever is hidden is meant to be disclosed, and whatever is concealed is meant to be brought out into the open.” Mark 4:22. I can hide from those who see with natural eyes but the true condition of my heart is always open to His loving eyes.

The light of the Holy Spirit brings revelation towards action.   When we cross the line, Papa gently urges us towards correction. Our Father loves us but He despises sin.  Our God desires relationship with us but He cannot live in vessels that are unclean. According to St John 3:17, Jesus  did not come to condemn us. He came to offer  salvation He offers. We choose.

Where are you today? Are you in a dark place straining your eyes to catch a glimpse of the ‘ Bright and Morning Star’ ?  Are you being a light to those who don’t have a light of their own? When others look at you, do they see Him?

If you have not yet met Him, today is a great day to make the move! His word says if we confess our sins, He will forgive us and  cleanse us  from all unrighteousness. If you would like to make that decision, this prayer could help. Dear Jesus, I acknowledge You as Lord and I confess my sins to You.  Please forgive me for the wrongs I’ve done.  Please come into my heart and show me how to live for You. Thank you for hearing and answering my prayer. Amen.

Our Father loves and cares for us. He does not want us to walk in darkness or be ashamed of our past. What He has cleansed is well cleansed. We have a marvellous opportunity to live a victorious life.  “… Today life and death are set before you (Deut 30:19)…  choose life!

Father, thank You for the Light that brings revelation and truth and offers us the ministry of reconciliation. Thank You for releasing me of the need to live a life of sin and darkness because Your precious light has brought me from the kingdom of darkness into the Kingdom of Light. I am so grateful! Examine my heart, my thoughts and my motives, Lord. Let Your light shine through me even in dark times so that others can see what a change You’ve made in my life and give glory to Your name.

Amen

Blessings,
ann

Toni R
(c)

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

