Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me—put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you. Philippians 4:8

It seems there’s nothing hidden these days. From sunrise to sunset we are bombarded with all types of information. Between breaking news, tweets and headline updates, we’re kept abreast of global happenings. If we internalize and think about all that’s happening, we could go off the deep end. I don’t have a fool-proof formula, but when the cares of life become unbearable, I try to find something relaxing to listen to and meditate on. I read favourite passages from the Bible or tune in to my favourite playlist.  I allow myself to be drawn into the world of the writer and often end with a prayer.

It’s good when it works like that, but there are other times I struggle with keeping my mind focussed on what I need to do. There are days when my eyes start closing as soon as I pick up the Word or the minute I decided to pray, I suddenly remember a bill I had forgotten to take care of. At that point I need to ask God to help me to keep my mind stayed on Him. I cannot do it on my own. I need to “take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” 2 Corinthians 10:5

How does it look from where you stand? Are you also struggling to stay connected to the right Source? What fuels your passion? Do you approach Bible Study as enthusiastically as you meet with the television set for your favourite show? Do you find the scriptures as enticing and interesting as the last novel you read? When was the last time you spent some quality hours just digging through His word eagerly anticipating His instructions?

As I typed these questions, I’m trying to answer them and it begins to dawn on me just how often I put aside the things of God to satisfy my selfish needs.  The fact that His word says I should concentrate on whatever is true, lovely, pure etc doesn’t mean I always get it right. I am thankful for His mercies and thankful that He’s the God of second chances. I’m so lost without Him.

Father, I confess I’m not always thinking good thoughts. Sometimes in the middle of meeting with you I go off base. This happens because I don’t always prepare myself to meet with You. Help me to understand that what I feed on is important since my mouth speaks out of the overflow of thoughts in my heart ( St. Matthew 12:34). I pray that You would teach me how to train my ears to listen to what is uplifting and honourable so that my thoughts and actions would reflect You. I can only speak of what I know. Teach me Your ways so I can put them in practice, I pray. It’s my desire to live a life that brings You glory.

Amen

Blessings,
ann

Toni R
(c)

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

