So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal. (2 Corinthians 4:18.)
My eyes look to you, LORD Almighty. I have taken refuge in you. Do not leave me defenseless.
(Psalm 141:8). And as Moses lifted up the serpent in the wilderness, so must the Son of Man be lifted up (St John 3:14).

If a mosquito feeds on me, my reflex says I should smack the offender and scratch the itch (even though I know scratching irritates the skin and spreads the discomfort). I’m told that the venom of snakes in some parts of the world has a high level of toxins –  some so bad that a single bite can kill a human if an antidote is not taken within moments of being bitten. I’ve never been bitten by a snake but if that does happen, my first response might be to somehow disable it to discourage further harm.  While I’m spending time trying to disarm or destroy my attacker, precious seconds are being wasted as the poison works itself towards my heart. If it gets there before I get help, I could end up dead and the snake could escape and end up harming others!

When life bites,  it sometimes feels easier to respond to the bite than to look up the One who can heal the wound.  Sometimes so much effort and energy is spent on purging the world of painful things that we lose sight of what’s really important.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not suggesting that we roll over and die when others cause us pain or hurt. I’m suggesting that we direct our efforts and energy where they will yield the best outcome. Sometimes the bites, often unprovoked, can be really painful but those who are trained to catch offenders will do a better job … It’s best to leave it to the Pro.

Do not waste your energy trying to get rid of those who seem to exist only to bring you pain.  Check in with Abba for guidance instead… that way you’ll be healed before the poison gets to your heart and destroys you.  Getting bitten is a part of the course we signed up for. What happens to the bite is up to you.  Run the race with patience, keeping your eyes on the prize “and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus”. (Philipians 4:7)

Did someone or something take a bite out of you?    Are you so intent on destroying the destroyer that you end up giving the poison a fast track to your heart?  Where is your focus today? What are you looking at? The ‘bite’, the ‘biter’ or the ‘Healer of the Bite’? Have you been able to shift your eyes from the pain you’re feeling and look instead on the One who brings healing?

Do not be afraid of those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Rather, be afraid of the One who can destroy both soul and body in hell. (Matthew 10:28) Do not take revenge, my friends, but leave room for God’s wrath, for it is written: “It is mine to avenge; I will repay,” says the Lord. (Romans 12:19) The king’s heart is like streams of water. Both are under the LORD’s control. He turns them in any direction he chooses (Proverbs 21:1). Keep your eyes on Him!

Father, I’ve been bitten more than once. I’ve been bitten when I cross the line and move into territory I have no business dwelling in. I’ve also been bitten while walking the path you’ve chosen for me. There are times when I want to do all I can to make sure the biter gets what’s due to them but remind me to pray as I’ve been taught:  ‘that truth would be revealed and that justice would be served’. Please help me to focus my eyes on the Healer of Bites instead of on the bite or the biter as there are no wounds that You cannot heal. The Bible says a thousand years are but a day in Your sight  and sometimes it does feel like I’ve been in pain for a thousand years. I know You can heal in an instant but there are times You choose to heal over a lifetime. Please grant me Your peace as I go through the healing process. Help me to trust You for deliverance.

Amen

Blessings,
ann

Toni R
(c)

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

