When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a violent wind came from heaven and filled the whole house where they were sitting. They saw what seemed to be tongues of fire that separated and came to rest on each of them. All of them were filled with the Holy Spirit and began to speak in other tongues as the Spirit enabled them. (Acts 2:1-4)… They devoted themselves to the apostles’ teaching and to the fellowship, to the breaking of bread and to prayer. Everyone was filled with awe, and many wonders and miraculous signs were done by the apostles. (Acts 2:42-43)

As a child, I’d run with a kite in my hand waiting for the perfect moment. When the right current of air came along, I’d throw up my hands and let the kite go. I’d then watch with pride as it rode the wind, soaring to heights it could never get to if I was still holding on.  It’s a wonderful feeling to see something I’ve fashioned with my own hands glide effortlessly in the breeze.

I’m good at making a kite. I’m good at running with it. I’m also good at throwing it up into the wind but I cannot make it fly. The timing of the wind has to be ideal. If I don’t let go at the right moment, the kite may come crashing down in a matter of seconds.

  • If I let go before the wind has fully come, the force of the airstream may catch the kite at the wrong angle and blow it downwards instead. That bad-timing can cause damage to my kite.
  • If I change my mind about letting go while in mid-launch, the gust can rip the kite right from my hands and leave me with shreds of my beautiful masterpiece. Even though I’ve spent so much time working on the kite, I do have to let it go and allow the wind to carry it. Yes, when the wind comes, it’s time to let go. Kites were made to fly.
  • If I let go after the wind has passed, I can launch with all my might but the kite still won’t fly. The kite flies on the strength of the wind, not on the power with which I throw.

The Holy Spirit came like “a mighty rushing wind” (Acts 2:2). Those who had gathered to wait on Him were ready. It was time to allow The Wind to come and take control. They were prepared … they were waiting. They were not running around all day waiting on a moment that wasn’t coming, neither were they trying to create their own ‘wind moments’. They let go of all their fears and inhibitions. God had given a promise and they believed that He would make good on it.

What are you holding onto that needs the freedom of the wind? Are you trying to fly your kite on your own strength and power? It may look good as it leaves your hand, but when your efforts fail; your dream will come crashing with it.  On the other hand, God may be telling you to wait on Him for His timing in launching a dream He’s placed inside you.  Don’t run ahead of Him… If He promised you support, then He’s going to send it. The perfection of His timing settles all the questions. Wait for it… wait for it!

Father, there are days when it seems all my energy is consumed with running around trying to launch my kite into a wind I created myself. I’m convinced that the timing is right, yet the kite won’t rise. I heave with all my energy and still nothing happens… There are other days I feel you tugging at my heart. The Wind of the Holy Spirit is so strong in the call for action yet I allow the fear of failure or the fear of what others will say to prevent me from going where you want me to go. Please forgive me for putting my trust in the wrong place.  Today I will be a kite in Your hands. I don’t know the timing of Your launch but I trust You to place me where I will do my best work for You. Nothing I’ve accomplished is worth celebrating if Your hand of blessing is not visible in my achievements. Thank you for second chances, Abba.

Amen

Blessings,
ann

Toni R
(c)

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

