…Pray hard and long. Pray for your brothers and sisters. Keep your eyes open. Keep each other’s spirits up so that no one falls behind or drops out. Ephesians 6:18

I had a conversation with an 8 year-old in which I told him I’d pray for him. His response was “ no you won’t” …. I assured him I would. He replied “No you won’t … people say they will and then they just go away and forget about you”. That shocked me greatly.

This conversation sparked a whole chain of thoughts in my head. I started to wonder about the number of times I’d promised someone I’d pray for them or the number of times someone had promised me they’d pray for me.  Had I been faithful in praying for every single person every single time?

Our Christian journey often takes us over hills and through dark valleys. We meet others along the way. Some have needs and yearn to be supported and lifted up. It’s often  in our lowest of low moments that God sends someone along who needs our prayers. I think that is God’s way of reminding us that He is with us and that we are still to pray for those who need to be encouraged (even when we think we’re at breaking point).

I want to encourage you to practical prayer today. Think for a moment about the last person who requested prayer of you or the last person you promised you’d pray for. If you hadn’t prayed for them, please do so now. If you have prayed for them, please offer thanksgiving on their behalf.  There are times I’ve been in a tight spot and  uncommon favour found me. There are times I’ve been in danger and received unexpected deliverance. I know it was because someone was praying for me. Years ago our Pastor told us that if anyone ‘popped  into our minds’, we should pray for them immediately. I still try to practice that principle even today.

Some pray from a list of needs, others from names in a box, and still others pray as the needs are revealed to them. I don’t think the method matters much, though. The important thing is that we pray for each other as the Scriptures exhort. The needs around us are many and varied. There’s still war, famine, hatred, pain, violence, sickness, anger , leadership, climate change… so many reasons to seek His face. Let’s keep praying for each other.

Father … You’ve caused so many to cross my path over the years. I thank You for those who have prayed for me over the years and for those who continue to pray for me. Help me to obey your Word and to pray for those You bring to my mind. Life gets busy at times but please help me to make the time to support my brothers and sisters in prayer.  There are times it seems the prayers have hit a brick wall but we thank You for reminding us that You hear us even before we call! If You choose to delay a response, help us to trust You still. Our Father in heaven, hallowed be Your name, Your kingdom come, Your will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Give us today our daily bread. Forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors.  And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from the evil one – St Matthew 6: 9-13

Amen

Blessings,
ann

Toni R
(c)

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

