For God so loved the world that He gave His one and only Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life.  For God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through Him. Whoever believes in Him is not condemned, but whoever does not believe stands condemned already because they have not believed in the name of God’s one and only Son. St John 3:16-18

At an event I attended, we were required to check in with reception.   The rules were very strict … unless a name appeared on the list, the guest would be denied entrance.    More than one person showed up that evening only to find that their names were not on the list and that they would not be allowed to enter. (Some even brought the written invitations to show they had a right to be there but alas, their names were not on the list …)

As I listened to the stories that night, we realized names had been excluded for a number of reasons.  Failure to respond to the invitation seemed the most popular – people just assumed the hostess would know they would attend even though the invitation had clearly stated that a reply needed to be given. The situations that presented themselves that night made me think about the day of the Lord’s return. Although the gates of the City will be open, only those whose names are written in the Lamb’s Book of Life will enter therein.

In Revelation 3:20, the Lord says “I am now standing at the door and am knocking. If anyone listens to My voice and opens the door, I will go in to be with him and will feast with him, and he shall feast with Me.” We have the option to accept or decline His request. He desires relationship with us but He will not force us to accept – the choice is ours. We get to decide whether we choose eternal life with Him or eternal punishment away from Him. Now what I am commanding you today is not too difficult for you or beyond your reach.  It is not up in heaven, so that you have to ask, “Who will ascend into heaven to get it and proclaim it to us so we may obey it?” Nor is it beyond the sea, so that you have to ask, “Who will cross the sea to get it and proclaim it to us so we may obey it?” No, the word is very near you; it is in your mouth and in your heart so you may obey it.  See, I set before you today life and prosperity, death and destruction. For I command you today to love the LORD your God, to walk in obedience to him, and to keep his commands, decrees and laws…  Deuteronomy 30:11-16

If you have already accepted the invitation, then rejoice in knowing your name is on the list! If you haven’t yet opened the envelope let alone replied, now is a good time. The days will pass whether or not we’re counting down. Pretty soon it will be the big day.  He’s giving us the option to choose life and prosperity… choose ye this day.

Father, I am so grateful for the plan of salvation. I don’t deserve the way You love me but that didn’t stop You from giving Your Best to give me the chance to sit at Your banqueting table. I pray for those reading who may not be sure of where they stand with You. I pray You will whisper to their hearts as they contemplate the next move.  May today be the day they decide to accept Your invitation for eternal life. May today be the day they say “Dear Jesus, I confess my sins to You . Please cleanse me and make me new before You.  I accept You as Lord and Saviour of my life.” May the overwhelming response be to choose Life. Thank you for giving us the option to choose.  Amen

Blessings,
ann

Toni R
(c)

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

