Let your light so shine before men that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven. St Matthew 5: 16

13 “Let me tell you why you are here. You’re here to be salt-seasoning that brings out the God-flavors of this earth. If you lose your saltiness, how will people taste godliness? You’ve lost your usefulness and will end up in the garbage. 14 “Here’s another way to put it: You’re here to be light, bringing out the God-colors in the world. God is not a secret to be kept. We’re going public with this, as public as a city on a hill. 15 If I make you light-bearers, you don’t think I’m going to hide you under a bucket, do you? I’m putting you on a light stand. 16 Now that I’ve put you there on a hilltop, on a light stand – shine! Keep open house; be generous with your lives. By opening up to others, you’ll prompt people to open up with God, this generous Father in heaven. ( St Matthew 5:13-16)

Loneliness can be quite a terrible experience.  Yes, you can be in a room full of people and still be lonely even though you’re not alone.  If you look around at unfamiliar faces and you’re met with a smile it eases the pain a little. Imagine what happens if everyone around you smiles at you and make you feel comfortable and at home… It won’t be long before you smile back too. Your smile may even bring a light to someone else.

I grew up near pristine blue waters. As far as the eye could see, the waters stretched and covered all. In the daytime, we could see ships passing by.  We didn’t always look at them but we knew they were there. When the sun was at its highest, the light would bounce off the ships or the surface of the water and we would have to squint our eyes to count the ships passing by. In the nights, the ships were a different story. The clear blue waters looked like an inky ocean in the dark of night but the lights from the ships and buoys would stand out distinctly against the darkness.

I used to think of St Matthew 5:16 as a verse Christians should live so that unbelievers can come to know God.  Now I’m thinking that the verse could also be used as Christians sharing the light of Christ with each other.   Sometimes we’re in the midst of the darkness and it’s the light of another that gives us hope. That’s how I view our lives as Christians. We all have a light and we have a responsibility to share that light.

In the dark of night, I may not be able to tell the size of the vessel but I know one is there!  I am most certainly not alone! 🙂

Father, I am so thankful for the lights around me.  Please help me to keep my lamp trimmed so that those around may give You glory. I know it’s not about me – it has never been about me – but You have seen it fit  to give me the opportunity to share my light with others.  I pray that when others look at me, they will not see the light that is ‘me’, but that they will see The Light ,  The Way, The Truth and The Life.  Father, I pray for those who are struggling with keeping our lamps lit.  I pray You will grant renewed strength and constantly remind us of the reason you’ve given us this job – to bring glory to Your name.    I pray for those who are wandering around in the darkness. I pray You will cause them to come across the lamps of those faithful to You and that the end result will bring You glory. Help us  to be salt and light for You.    Amen

Blessings,
ann

Toni R
(c)

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

