Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up. Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all people, especially to those who belong to the family of believers. Galatians 6:9-10

(Hello friends, today’s post is a little different from the usual format. After our Pastor spoke on Sunday, I felt compelled to write something that has been on my heart for while. I still haven’t gotten over the Earthquake in Haiti last year and now Japan… )

Prior to hearing our Pastor’s pleas, I read Deb’s post on ‘One’s Life’ – Luke 12:15 ; Princess Rea’s piece on ‘Praying (For Japan)’ and Linda’s post on ‘Prayers For Japan And A Hurting World’ . I take these as confirmation of what I need to share – information I have been aware of but just never got around to passing on.

We are blessed and highly favoured. God has been good to us and we have much to be thankful for. If we go to bed hungry it’s because we decided not to cook. We have options each and every day… we decide what to wear and what to eat. That’s much more than many people in the world can say.

At first I found it difficult to give as we do not have the financial means to support all the efforts we’d like to contribute to, but I’ve come to discover that there are so many ways we can help. Based on our individual circumstances, we may find some projects easier to tackle than others but believe it or not, we can all help!

We can make a difference!  If you plan to contribute financially, take the time to do some research… check out charities (local and international ones) and see where you can best serve.  If you aren’t able to contribute financially, check out avenues where you can use your time, talents and abilities. If your home commitments make it difficult to give of your time, please check out  sites where you can click daily to make a difference. Make them your homepage so you have a visual reminder each time you log onto the internet. Examples are The Breast Cancer Site , The Hunger Site or visit The Non Profits for a list of ‘click to help’ sites.

Here are some other practical ways of helping where you are. We can’t change the world but we can make a difference one person at a time.

  • Donate to local food bank or other charity
  • Donate at  least one functional item (from your personal storehouse) to someone in need
  • Donate time, baked goods etc to a local hospital, school, retirement home
  • Volunteer to read for patrons of a local library or hospital
  • Give financially as often as you are able
  • Save a set amount each month and donate at Christmas
  • Offer prayers on behalf of those who spend their lives  in service to others
  • Click daily at The Breast Cancer Site , The Hunger Site or  The Non Profits
  • Ask God to direct you as you help to make a difference.

In what other ways can we help?  Please feel free to share ideas of ways to make it easier for someone else. 🙂

Father, I am for all you’ve given me. I realize my possessions belong to you – I brought nothing here and I can take nothing with me when You call me home. Help me to be willing and ready to share with those around me who are in need. Help me to make wise decisions based on Your desire for my life and not on my own thoughts or feelings. I trust You to order my steps.   Amen

Blessings,
ann

Toni R
(c)

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

