St John 10: 7-10 So Jesus said again, “I tell you the truth, I am the door for the sheep.  All the people who came before me were thieves and robbers. The sheep did not listen to them. I am the door, and the person who enters through me will be saved and will be able to come in and go out and find pasture. A thief comes to steal and kill and destroy, but I came to give life—life in all its fullness. *

My father worked as a firefighter for many years. Before we retired to bed at nights, He would make sure there was a clear passage to the door. He always said we needed to be aware of where the door is, in case we need to find it in the dark or in an emergency. I carried that into adulthood and even in our home today, that is the rule – there must be a clear passage to the door.

I know the layout of my home by heart. I can find the door at midnight if I need to but it doesn’t matter what physical preparations we make to keep our family safe, nothing compares to the refuge that He is!  In Him, we have the safest of safe places. According to Psalm 4:8, “I go to bed and sleep in peace,  because, Lord, only you keep me safe” *  So while we make sure the path to the door is clear, it is in our best interest to make sure there is nothing blocking our access to The Door.

Jesus said “I am the door” … do you have a clear path to Him?  There may be events you can’t prevent or circumstances you can’t roll from your path, but as far as it lies in your control, do you have a direct line to Him? When an emergency hits, do you see immediately see Him? Or do you have to clear some things out of the way to get to Him?   It is His desire to satisfy us. He says whoever enters through Him will be able to come in and go out and find pasture… ”  Through Him we have access to “life – in all its fulness” ! I confess I didn’t always get this. I felt I had to earn my keep and was reluctant to ‘bother Him’ with my needs. I would waste precious time trying to find the access He had placed right before my eyes. It took me quite a while to understand who He is to me and the ‘no strings attached’ package He offers.

He presents Himself as the Way and the Door. All our needs are met in Him! When you enter into relationship with Him, He gives you the right to benefit from the pastures He has provided. Tap directly into His grace and goodness today. Move towards the Door!

Father, please search my heart today.  Please walk through the entranceway that is my life. I ask that You remove whatever I have gathered that does not glorify You. I pray that You will clean house for me today and help me to keep the path to You clear. You are the door to everything I need to live the life that counts.

There are things in my life I have no control over and there are days it seems like an avalanche of issues are coming at me from all angles. Still, I choose to look unto You and allow You to ‘order my steps and direct my path’. Earthly issues and disasters may trip my feet but as long as my eyes are fixed on You, I am safe. You can do the impossible in my life. I will keep my eyes on You and allow You to guide me around the traps that the enemy has set for me.

Nothing is impossible with You. If You call me, I can walk on water! In the midst of frustration You are my peace. When disappointment and discouragements assail, You are my joy!  I am thankful that You are the Door and the only Entrance that really matters.  When I run to You, I am truly safe!

Amen

Blessings,
ann

Scripture taken from the New Century Version. Copyright © 2005 by Thomas Nelson,    Inc. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

Toni R
(c)

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

