As the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return to it without watering the earth and making it bud and flourish, so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater, so is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it – Isaiah 55:10-11 (1)

I, the Lord, do not change… – Malachi 3:6 (2)

I’ve heard the term ‘waiting on the Lord’ more times than I can count. I’ve waited and waited and still He hasn’t answered. It was during one of these ‘waiting periods’ at one of the lowest times of my life, that the enemy of our souls sent some questions my way… Did God really promise that? Or are you just imagining things? Did He specifically say this would happen? … I listened to him and the more I listened, the more I started to doubt the word God had given to me.

So I went to God in tears. I wasn’t sure anymore whether I had a promise to stand on and panic was beginning to set in. After my tantrum subsided, God started to speak to me. He reminded me of who He is (I am the Lord I change not). He reminded me that He keeps His words (It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it). He reminded me that sometimes I do have to wait but He will deliver on His promises – For the revelation awaits an appointed time; it speaks of the end and will not prove false. Though it linger, wait for it; it will certainly come and will not delay – Habbakuk 2:3(3)

The promise has not yet been fulfilled but I have His endorsement that it will come to pass so I choose to wait. May I encourage you today? I don’t know what God has promised to do in your life but please note that if God has promised, He must deliver. (His word will not return void). Encourage yourself in His word today. Speak back to Him what He has spoken to you. (God is not a human being, and he will not lie. He is not a human, and he does not change his mind. What He says He will do, He does. What He promises, He makes come true. – Numbers 23:19  (4) If He has said yes to you, then His words will be fulfilled at the appointed time. His promise is on its way.  Though it linger, wait for it; it will certainly come and will not delay.

Father, I thank You for Your promises. Forgive me for doubting Your words. I don’t always feel like they’re working in my favour but I trust Your words that You will work all things for my good.  I believe that You will deliver on Your promises so I choose to wait on You. Your promises are ‘yea and amen’. You do not change! I echo the Psalmist – ‘my hope and trust are in You’!

Sometimes the waiting is hard and those who look on, wait for a sign. Help me to keep my focus on You and to allow You to put the words in my mouth to answer those who speak words they don’t understand. I speak Your words back to You. I will wait for the revelation that You have promised. While I wait, I will give You all the glory, honour and praise. My desire is to live a life that’s pleasing in Your sight. If I add all I hope for and dream of to my life and lose my relationship with You, my life will not be worth living. I place all I am, all I have and all I will ever be in Your hands. I trust You to do what You say You will do.

Amen

Blessings,
ann

Scripture References:

 (1-3) “Scripture taken from THE HOLY BIBLE, NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION®, NIV®  Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica, Inc.™ Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide..”

(4)“Scripture taken from the New Century Version. Copyright © 2005 by Thomas Nelson, Inc. Used by permission. All rights reserved.”

Toni R
(c)

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

