But you, Israel, are my servant. You’re Jacob, my first choice, descendants of my good friend Abraham. I pulled you in from all over the world, called you in from every dark corner of the earth, Telling you, ‘You’re my servant, serving on my side.  I’ve picked you. I haven’t dropped you.’Don’t panic. I’m with you. There’s no need to fear for I’m your God. I’ll give you strength. I’ll help you. I’ll hold you steady, keep a firm grip on you. (1)  Isaiah 41:8-10

I can clearly recall the day my uncle tried to teach me to ride a bike. I remember him holding on while I pedaled with all my might. Each time I looked back, he was running behind me, offering encouragement and holding onto my bike to help me keep my balance. As I rode, my confidence grew stronger and stronger. I kept riding, unaware that he had let go and was just running behind me. The moment I realized I was on my own, fear got the better of me and I took a tumble.  I wish I knew He had planned to let go.

In my Christian walk, I have taken many a tumble because I let go of God.  I let go of His wise counsel and trusted others for guidance and direction only to end up with regrets. There were also times when I was certain I had it right and I would just take off on my own only to end up bruised, broken and in need of His healing touch. Sadly, I didn’t learn from those mistakes and would take off again as soon as my wounds healed only to have history repeat itself.  Over time, the pain and scars taught me a very real lesson – I’m better off if I let Him hold onto me!  He will never let go!

There have been days when I feel like I’m on my own but I choose to believe that He has not let go of me. I’m learning that I’m better off trusting Him to hold me in His almighty hands.  We get sidetracked with what’s going on around us and the pressures of life may cause us to lose our grip – but when He holds us, nothing can tear us from His grasp! I don’t know where you are in your walk with Him but I would like to encourage you to let Him hold onto you. He never let’s go!

Father I am thankful that You care for us the way You do. I have held onto You before only to let go without even realizing. I will fail over and over again if I go in my own strength but as long as You are holding me, I am safe! Storms may buffet me left and right but You are still right there, holding me.
There are days it feels like I’m floating aimlessly down river but I choose to believe You are holding onto me – even when I can’t see your hand. When the road gets hard and rocky, I know You are guiding me even when I don’t always readily acknowledge Your guiding hand.

I will not trust myself to hold onto You but I willingly lay all I am in Your hands. I understand that being in Your hands does not make me exempt from pain and testing but I also understand that You are right there with me as I go through the process. When You hold me, I am safe – You have a firm grip and nothing and nothing can make You let go of me.

The journey has not been easy but I thank You for never letting go of me.

Amen

Blessings,
ann

Scripture References:

(1)  Scripture taken from The Message. Copyright � 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2002. Used by permission of NavPress Publishing Group.”

Toni R
(c)

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

