Every good action and every perfect gift is from God. These good gifts come down from the Creator of the sun, moon, and stars, who does not change like their shifting shadows. James 1:17 (1)  

For meanwhile, the moment we get tired in the waiting, God’s Spirit is right alongside helping us along. If we don’t know how or what to pray, it doesn’t matter. He does our praying in and for us, making prayer out of our wordless sighs, our aching groans. He knows us far better than we know ourselves, knows our pregnant condition, and keeps us present before God. That’s why we can be so sure that every detail in our lives of love for God is worked into something good. (Romans 8:26-28) (2) 

Earlier in life I convinced myself that good didn’t just happen. As soon as something good came across my path, I would condition my mind for bad news. Naturally, something bad would happen. I didn’t have the right attitude. I had no clue how to celebrate the good.  I didn’t allow Him to work His purpose in my life because I kept trying to order my own steps. It wasn’t until I surrendered my thinking to Him that I began to understand that good toward us was His intention. After all, He gave His very Best for us. 

I am learning to look for the good in situations and I’m learning to look for the good in others. I am learning to trust His promise that He is with me and that He will never leave me on my own. I trust Him to take care of me. There are miracles He’s yet to manifest in my life and answers to prayers that have not yet been revealed to me but that doesn’t mean He has not already done much in my life. I have a reason to celebrate the good.

…Alll the days ordained for me were written in Your book before one of them came to be . Psalm 139: 16(3). Nothing happens unless He allows it. Good or not so good, He is aware of my circumstances and He has made provision for everything I will ever go through.  I have a responsibility to celebrate the good.

I have decided that for the next seven days, I will journal one good thing He has done in my life and I will write Him a letter of thanksgiving for each. May I encourage you to celebrate His goodness this week?

Father, You are Good and I am thankful for the revelation that all good gifts come from You. I am thankful that Your plans are to ‘prosper and not to harm’ me. I know that sometimes things that are not all good happen, but I trust Your word that all things will work together for my good.
I commit this week to being thankful for the good You are and for the good You have done in my life.

Today I choose to thank You specifically for relationships. :- Since You order my steps, I know that none of my relationships are accidental so I thank  You for them – even the ones I think I would be better off without. I choose to step back and watch You work the good in the relationships in my life to the glory and honour of Your name. Amen

Toni R
(c)

Scripture References:

( 1)Scripture taken from the New Century Version. Copyright © 2005 by Thomas Nelson,   Inc. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

(2)  Scripture taken from The Message. Copyright 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2002. Used by permission of NavPress Publishing Group.”

( 3)  Scripture taken from the HOLY BIBLE, NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION®. Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984 Biblica. Used by permission of Zondervan. All rights reserved.

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. 

