Two things I asked of You, Do not refuse me before I die: Keep deception and lies far from me, give me neither poverty nor riches; feed me with the food that is my portion,  that I not be full and deny You and say, “Who is the LORD?”  Or that I not be in want and steal, and profane the name of my God Proverbs 30:6-9(1)

In this day and age when more is often not enough, it is interesting to see what Solomon had at the top of his ‘wish list’: a desire for purity and contentment. As I read the passage in Proverbs, the Holy Spirit reminded me of a similar passage “But godliness with contentment is great gain. For we brought nothing into the world, and we can take nothing out of it.  But if we have food and clothing, we will be content with that.  Those who want to get rich fall into temptation and a trap and into many foolish and harmful desires that plunge people into ruin and destruction.  For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil. Some people, eager for money, have wandered from the faith and pierced themselves with many griefs.”  1 Timothy 6:6-10( 2)

Proverbs 22:7 shows us that he who borrows is slave to the lender. … Many nations celebrate independence but they are financially dependent on other countries or lending agencies.  Many around us appear free but they are in bondage to the bills and balances that haunt their steps. Have you been borrowing lately? Are you facing a mountain of bills brought about by ‘borrowing out of necessity’?  Having money gives us the freedom to do much but crippling ourselves under these obligations was never His design. We should be careful not to “pierce ourselves with many griefs” in our quest for material wealth.

Maybe you are on the other side. You have no need to borrow because you have what you need and more. How do you treat those to whom you lend your time, your talent and your resources? Do others feel comfortable in approaching you with their needs? Have you been a good steward of what He has blessed you with? Debt forgiveness is much easier than it appears. Can you or I make a difference? Would someone you know benefit form ‘the year of Jubilee’ this year?  Are you able to help bring relief to even one person? What practical way can you provide help to someone in need?  

Planet earth has enough resources to sustain us but many go to bed hungry because the distribution has been so skewed.   Many live in poverty and slavery even now but we don’t always respond the way we should.  If we have excess, it is only through His hands … let us be eager to share with others who are in want , lest they “steal, and profane the name of (our) God ” . 

May I encourage you to prayerfully review your current situation? If you are in a position to help someone have a better life, please do. May God bless you over and over again as you seek to live in His will. “Godliness with contentment is indeed great gain! 

Father, I thank You for the revelation that comes through Your words.  I want to use what You have given to me to reach others for You.  Open my eyes that I may see the opportunities You have placed before me. Help me to be prudent in my dealings with others and help me never to say “Come back later”… knowing full well that I can immediately satisfy a need. I pray these words back to You today  “Two things I asked of You, Do not refuse me before I die: Keep deception and lies far from me, give me neither poverty nor riches; feed me with the food that is my portion,  that I not be full and deny You and say, “Who is the LORD?”  Or that I not be in want and steal, and profane the name of my God”

Show me how to use my daily walk to Your honour. If You give me more than I need, help me to willingly share with the less fortunate because You love those who happily give. Teach me to be truly content in You – I trust You to supply all my needs and provide enough to share with others. 

All I have is Yours. Be glorified in what I am and what I own.

Amen

Blessings,

ann

Toni R
(c)

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

(1)Scripture taken from the NEW AMERICAN STANDARD BIBLE®, Copyright © 1960,1962,1963,1968,1971,1972,1973,1975,1977,1995 by The Lockman Foundation. Used by permission.

(2) THE HOLY BIBLE, NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION®, NIV® Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica, Inc.™ Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide.

 

