I have seen the burden God has laid on the human race. He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end. I know that there is nothing better for people than to be happy and to do good while they live. That each of them may eat and drink, and find satisfaction in all their toil—this is the gift of God.  I know that everything God does will endure forever; nothing can be added to it and nothing taken from it. God does it so that people will fear him: Ecclesiastes 3:10-14

Events of the past year have given me reason to evaluate life cycles,  relationships and those who have contributed to who I am.  It has been an up and down year where I gained some relationships and lost some but each change has brought cause for celebration.  I am not happy for the pain but I am thankful that God is able to use our circumstances to make us stronger and His words say we should give thanks for everything. (Ephesians 5:20)

You can celebrate someone however you choose to – a phone call, a visit, a hug, a card, a heartfelt confession of how they have helped you to be who you are today and how thankful you are for their influence.  How about writing a special blessing for a friend in a distant land and sending it by snail mail?  Or tucking a note into a little ones coat pocket?  Or phoning a friend to say you appreciate them? Feeling like inviting a neighbour to dinner ‘just because’?  How about visiting with your parents – even if it’s not visiting Sunday?  How do you like the thought of having thanksgiving dinner as a family today?  Whatever you choose to do, do take the time to let someone know they matter to you.  You may not feel like you’re in a position to celebrate someone because of your present circumstances but maybe celebrating them could also give you a reason to rejoice.

God does not place people in our lives by accident (even though we don’t always readily receive this). We are where we are today because someone somewhere helped us.  His times and seasons may be different from ours but we can be certain His plans are perfect. …   Children’s children are a crown to the aged, and parents are the pride of their children.  (Proverbs 17:6) He places the lonely in families ( Psalm 68:6)  A friend loves at all times and  a brother is born to `share your pain`)  (Proverbs 17:17 )  Wherever you are in your life is a direct result of His grace and mercy sometimes expressed through human hands.

Is there someone you can celebrate today? Perhaps today is the day to help someone write a pleasant chapter in their story. Your touch may not erase the scars but your love can help heal old wounds.   Can you think of one who has been there for you through the good times and otherwise?  Why not check in with them today to say ‘thanks for being there’?  Who knows?  That person may need to be encouraged today and your actions could bring them unexpected happiness and give them another reason to praise the Father.

Celebrate someone today!  Say ‘thank you for being a part of my life and may God use me to bless others the way you have blessed me!’  However you choose to, do take the time to let someone feel loved and appreciated today.  After all, we  “know that there is nothing better for people than to be happy and to do good while they live. That each of them may eat and drink, and find satisfaction in all their toil—this is the gift of God.” … And while you’re at it, why not celebrate someone else tomorrow?!

Father, I am thankful for every person who has crossed my path.  Some relationships have blossomed into treasures… others have fizzled as that season ended.  I confess I don’t always recognize Your hands in those who are a part of my circle but I thank You for every single person who has helped to write the chapters I now live.  As the story of who You want me to be unfolds, You add people and You take others… Help me to work with Your timing. 
Today I thank You for my family, my friends, my colleagues, my church family, my neighbors and everyone else You have allowed to cross my path.  As I go about celebrating Your investments in my life today, I pray You would give me the right words especially in those circumstances where an attempt to celebrate could be misunderstood.  I pray that as we celebrate, Your healing would flow where it needs to flow and that Your name would be glorified.  We are all important to each other …  Help us never to forget that and help us never to forget to celebrate each other,  ‘ in season and out of season’ to the glory of Your name.

Amen
Blessings,

ann

Toni R
(c)

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Scripture taken from the THE HOLY BIBLE, NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION®, NIV® Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica, Inc.™ Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide.

