Blessed is the one who does not walk in step with the wicked or stand in the way that sinners take or sit in the company of mockers, but whose delight is in the law of the LORD, and who meditates on his law day and night. That person is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither – whatever they do prospers. Psalm 1:1-3

There are many persons in the Bible who found themselves in various positions at different points in their lives.  Some chose to be in the position, others were placed in position but there is no place that we can be that God will not be able to find or use us.

  • We read in 1 Kings 18:42 that,  “Elijah climbed to the top of Carmel, bent down to the ground and put his face between his knees”. Elijah expected something to happen so he went into the ‘birthing position’ and waited until God answered his prayer for rain.
  • God struck the child David had with Bathsheba and the child became ill. David took the position of seeking God’s face but after the child died,   “ David arose from the ground, washed, anointed himself, and changed his clothes; and he came into the house of the LORD and worshiped”(2 Sam 12:20)
  •  The prodigal son realized a pig pen was nowhere for him to be, so changed his position and headed home. St Luke 15:20 records that “… he got up and went to his father But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and was filled with compassion for him; he ran to his son, threw his arms around him and kissed him.” The father likely didn’t know where his son had wandered off to, but the son knew where home was. It was up to him to change his position and head to the familiar place.
  • The accusers of the adulterous woman in St John 8: 3-11 “…made her stand before the group” in order that she be judged. Jesus changed His position and “stooped down to write”. They changed their position and walked away, leaving her standing in His presence.   

What is your position today? What is your position saying about you?  Are you bent by the cares of life? Do your shoulders droop and sag because you can’t walk under the pressure?  What has wounded you? What has brought you to this place?  Have you been walking around with a burden that’s not yours? Are you in a position of humiliation because of past mistakes?  Are you in birthing position expecting Him to deliver on His promise? Are you standing fast in Him or are you doubled over in pain and agony?  Are you pretending you’re okay instead of reaching out for help?

There is a time for everything, says the Word. We need to make sure we are walking in His timing and His season.  It’s time to toss what’s not yours and assume the position He wants you to be in. If He put you in a cave, there’s a lesson to be learnt. If He has you on your face, you could be that much closer to your breakthrough. There are days to come before Him “with singing and rejoicing” and there are other days where crying out in anguish will get His response.

We may never know His timing and His season. We may never see what’s ahead but for us, but we can fix our eyes on the One who sees the beginning and the end at the same time.  You may have been forced into the position you’re in, He may have placed you there or you may have made the conscious decision to be where you are.  May I invite you to check in with Him regarding your position and your positioning?  Whether you are prostrate, kneeling, falling or standing, He sees and knows where you are and He is more than willing to meet us at the point of your need.

Father, I am thankful that your timing and positioning are perfect! I don’t always understand why I am where I am, but I take comfort in knowing that You are there and that You have never left me alone! Those around me may wait for me to fall flat on my face but You cause me to stand in Your presence and for that I say “hallelujah!!”

I don’t want to be kneeling when it’s time for me to be resting. I don’t want to be weeping when it’s time for me to rise and wash my face and worship You!  I have plans for my life and ideas of how I want my story to be written but I trust You to place me where You want me to be.

Whether I climb, bend, stand, stoop, sit, walk, sleep, praise or rest, I choose to be positioned by Your perfect system. I will not be moved by whatever assails me. I will trust in You and I will wait on You to move me into the time and place where You will be most glorified. Teach me Your ways and I will follow You.  Amen

 Blessings,
ann

Toni R
(c)

Scripture taken from THE HOLY BIBLE, NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION®, NIV® Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica, Inc.™ Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide.

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

