God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea, though its waters roar and foam and the mountains quake with their surging. Psalm 46:1-3

“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.     “Which of you, if your son asks for bread, will give him a stone?  Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake?  If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!  So in everything, do to others what you would have them do to you, for this sums up the Law and the Prophets.  St Matthew 7:7-12

A recent visit to a once familiar place didn’t go as well as I thought it would have. So many changes had taken place in recent times, I wasn’t sure where to go. I felt overwhelmed and nervous. People were passing by and I knew I needed direction, but for some reason I didn’t open my mouth and seek help. In that moment, the Holy Spirit spoke to my heart. Getting help would be easy but it seemed I had chosen to drown with my lifelines instead of reaching out for help! I whispered a prayer for boldness, took a step forward and “made my petition known”. The response was clear and specific and in no time, I was standing in front of the door I needed.  The lifelines had been sitting there waiting for me to access them but I didn’t use them until I was at the end of my rope.

This whole experience made me think of my walk with Him.  There are days I just don’t feel like going one step further.  Everything seems pitted against me and try as I might, I can’t seem to climb over the mountain.  Instead of asking Him for strength to climb over or seeking Him for direction in getting past it or knocking on His door for help, I push and shove and puff and blow and scream and yell but the mountain remains as steadfast and sure as the lifelines I choose not to use.

For the next couple of years I will be in this environment.  Room assignments will change.  I will have to work with various personalities.  I will have to make decisions with consequences that take me outside my comfort zone.  While drowning, I can choose to keep my lifelines in tact ‘in case I need them’ or I can choose to seek help when I need it.

Today your walk of life may take you to a familiar place,  or it may take you to some unknown, unfamiliar experience.  Whatever the case, rest assured that His lifelines are available to all, they have no expiry date and there is no limit to the number of times they can be used.  The fact is, He already knows we will need help.  Nothing surprises Him.  He has given us the tools we need but sometimes we choose not to use them.  May I encourage you to utilize what He has given you?  There’s really no point in drowning and leaving your lifelines behind.

Inventory / Introspection: What have I been trying to resolve on my own instead of trusting Him to fix it even though I have failed at it (over and over again)? Why do I find it hard to seek His guidance for the things I think I have all figured out? What God-given blessing have I been hoarding when I ought to be sharing? … Lifelines are no good to one who has already drowned.

Father, I am thankful that You forgive over and over again but I do not take Your compassion for granted. You give simple directions yet I fail to even follow Your coaching to ask, seek and knock even though my methods clearly aren’t working! I have blundered many times but I am thankful for second chances. I am thankful that when I go wandering off on my own, you don’t leave me to my own devices but You firmly and lovingly guide me back to the right place.

I am thankful for the ability and the privilege to ‘ask, seek and knock’. Help me to be mindful of my need for help and to trust that You are able to send the right help at the right time.  I don’t know what I want, let alone what I need. Help me to fall back on You and those You’ve placed in my life to help me in my daily walk.  

I choose to ask direction, I choose to seek guidance and I choose to knock on the doors of opportunity that You place before me. Help me too, that as I seek to be led, that I would be willing to facilitate guidance, direction and opportunities to others in need.

Blessings,
ann

Toni R
(c)

Scripture taken from THE HOLY BIBLE, NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION®, NIV® Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica, Inc.™ Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide.

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

