He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the LORD, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in him will I trust.  Surely he shall deliver thee from the snare of the fowler, and from the noisome pestilence. He shall cover thee with his feathers, and under his wings shalt thou trust…  Psalm 91 :1-4 (a) (King James Version)

Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.  For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ  in God. Colossians 3: 2-3

I enjoyed playing hide and seek as a child. A good game could last for a really long time and often we would have to ask the hider to give themselves up if we got tired of searching for them. It was not uncommon for someone with a good hiding place to fall asleep while waiting to be found.

As I pored over a recent project, I had great difficulty concentrating on what I needed to accomplish. It seemed everyone had something they needed yesterday and I was being called upon to deliver. I felt like I needed somewhere to hide and I found myself thinking back to the hide and seek days of my childhood.

I wish I could, but I can’t revert to childhood and hide behind my father. Still, I am thankful that I have somewhere to hide when the pressure mounts. I am thankful that rivers will not overflow me and that fires will not consume me because I am hidden in Him.  I am thankful that His name is a strong tower and that I can run there to be safe.

How are you managing with your pace of life? Feel like slowing down a bit? Need somewhere to hide? How about hiding  in the shelter of the Most High– Psalm 91:1 or in the shadow of The Almighty– psalm 91:2 or under His wings -Ppsalm 91:4 or In His hands – Psalm 95:4?  I dare say those are some mighty good hiding places and He has given His promise that no one can snatch (us) out of (His) hands! – St John 10:28.

Perhaps you feel like hiding today … maybe to get away from the pressures of life,  or maybe just to spend time resting in Him.   Why not give it a try? There are only 24 hours in each day. You can work as hard as you can, but you will accomplish so much and no more.  In the midst of all you do today, do try to carve out some time so you can hide in Him.

Inventory / Introspection: Have I been realistic in the way I approach my tasks? When was the last time I scheduled ‘hiding time’.

Practical Application : Do you have a special time and place to hide and be alone with Him?

Father, I am thankful that You are my hiding place and that I can totally lose myself in You! I am thankful I am safe in You and that You protect and guide me. You are “ a refuge for the oppressed (and) a stronghold in times of trouble. Those who know Your name trust in You, for You, LORD, have never forsaken those who seek You” (Psalm 9:9-10)

I pray that You will help us to make practical time management decisions as we fill our various roles. Many of us are facing deadlines that seem impossible but I pray You will help us to apply the right balance to every situation. Time is fleeting and precious. Help us to spend it in ways that glorify You.

As Your peace falls upon us, I pray You will help us to share The Secret with those around us who struggle with balancing priorities. We know we have to face our realities but we are thankful that we can always hide under Your wings.

Amen.

Blessings,
ann

Toni R
(c)

Unless otherwise noted, Scripture taken from THE HOLY BIBLE, NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION®, NIV® Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica, Inc.™ Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide.

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

