Gray hair is a crown of splendour; it is attained in the way of righteousness. …  Proverbs 19:31

Children’s children are a crown to the aged, and parents are the pride of their children. Proverbs 17:6

These two verses were recently brought to memory as we went through the 31 Days of Purpose challenge. Reflecting on them caused me to think of the stages of life and how God in His divine purpose, takes us through times and seasons.

As I look back at the decades I have lived, I can see how my life has been dramatically influenced by those who were older than me.  Now that others look to me for advice, I experience a two-fold thrill. On the one hand, it is a wonderful blessing to be able to pour back what I have learned into the lives of those to whom I offer daily guidance. On the other hand, there is the constant reminder that I am being watched, and that the life I live and the advice I share could affect generations to come.

Whether you are a child, a parent, or one crowned with ‘gray hair’, know that your life is in His hands. Be reminded today, that He has full knowledge of all your days and years, and that your life experiences matter much. You may not be living the life you planned, but His plans for you are perfect. He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end.  Ecclesiastes 3:11

What customs and traditions do you carry on because someone you looked up to taught those ways? What is the legacy that you are leaving for those who will come behind you? Do you have a heart that follows after God even when He doesn’t reveal the plan? Will you be remembered as one who trusted God, despite the issues you struggled with?  Will those following you be eager to walk in your footsteps?

Inventory / Introspection: How has my life reflected the concept of supporting the elderly while leaving a legacy for those who will come after me?

Practical Application: 1. Connect with an elderly person this week and let them know that they are treasured, relevant and respected.   2. Examine your personal journey to see if you are leaving a Godly heritage for those who look up to you.

Father, I am blessed to know so many in my life who fit into the category of aged and elderly. I am blessed to be surrounded by so many whose experiences enrich my life. I am double blessed to know those who have walked with You for years and testify like Job that they ‘have never seen the righteous forsaken’. I am blessed and thankful all at once. I am also aware that there are many who are old and alone today, feeling forgotten and useless. I pray that today they will feel Your love around them. I pray also for those who weep over families torn apart. I pray that You will heal and mend broken relationships that the hearts of these old soldiers may rejoice and glorify You.

In Your wisdom, You place others in our paths so we can offer them guidance and direction. Help us to take our cues from You, realizing that the only things that matter are the things that bring You glory. Help us to be mindful of our potential to influence those around us in the way we speak and act. I am thankful that You know everything about all of Your beloved children, and that You have not forgotten even one.  Help us to live lives that please You so that we can leave the legacy of Your goodness and faithfulness to those You have placed in our care.

May our lives reflect Your love.

Amen.


Blessings,
ann

Toni R
(c)

Scripture taken from THE HOLY BIBLE, NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION®, NIV® Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica, Inc.™ Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide.

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

