My frame was not hidden from You when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be. Psalm 139:15-16

Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your body. 1 Corinthians 6: 19-20

In a recent exercise, I was asked to carefully and seriously think about who I am, and what I have to offer to the One who “stooped down to make me great”. I was taught that all the bits and pieces that define me, all the processes that are constantly taking place inside me, all the things I like or not so much, all my failures and successes, dreams and disappointments, everything I’ve ever thought of or experienced add up to me. So, who am I?

While I contemplated who I am, I started to think about what I have to give to Him, mistakes, triumphs and all. It occurred to me that my past didn’t vanish when I made the decision to follow Him, but if I am fully sold out to Him, He can use what I am to rescue someone else.

Who am I really? Psalm 51:5 says “I was sinful at birth, sinful from the time my mother conceived me.” It is in our nature to sin. Sin is the natural position of the unbeliever, but  believers are not exempt from sin.  We are not perfect, but we strive to perfection in Him. The Bible does say I was born in sin and shaped in iniquity, but it also says that “He was pierced for our transgressions, He was crushed for our iniquities; the punishment that brought us peace was upon him, and by his wounds we are healed.”  (Isaiah 53:5) At the end of it all, I decided that I am His.  If He went through all of that for me, the least  I can do is give Him control of my life. I belong to Him … all of me. The good parts, the not so good parts … I am His when I please Him, and I am still His when I make mistakes. What a precious thought!

Your life experiences may also not have been the most pleasant but He can use what we are willing to give to Him. Some days may seem easier than others, but He holds time and space in His hands. He knows you and loves you, regardless. That being said, what do you have to give to Him today?

Inventory / Introspection: Are there areas of your past that you cannot seem to leave behind? Could it be that He wants to use you to minister to others struggling in those areas? Are you willing to give Him the chance to reach others through your mistakes?

Practical Application: How can your understanding of who He says you are, help you in leading others to Him?

Father, it was very hard for me to understand how You can use the things I’ve tripped over as stepping stones for growth in You, not only for myself, but for others. I thank You for the revelation that we all make mistakes, but we do not have to live in a sinful state.

I thank You too for helping me to see myself through Your eyes, instead of judging myself against what others think or feel about me.  I continue to marvel at the fact that You know all about me, yet You choose to love me and You choose to use me for Your glory. How can I not serve You with all that I am?!

Today I recommit myself to You with the full knowledge that I am all that I have experienced, all I am experiencing now, and all that I will ever go through. I pray that You will use my life to lead others to You, and if by sharing my journey with someone else I can help them to grow in You, let Your will be done.

I am thankful for the healing that You bring and I thank You for the opportunities You send for us to share Your love. May our eyes and ears be sensitive to Your direction and may our hearts be willing to follow where You lead.

Amen

Blessings,
ann

Toni R
(c)

Scripture taken from THE HOLY BIBLE, NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION®, NIV® Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica, Inc.™ Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide.

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

