So if you faithfully obey the commands I am giving you today—to love the LORD your God and to serve him with all your heart and with all your soul—then I will send rain on your land in its season, both autumn and spring rains, so that you may gather in your grain, new wine and olive oil. I will provide grass in the fields for your cattle, and you will eat and be satisfied.   Be careful, or you will be enticed to turn away and worship other gods and bow down to them. Then the LORD’s anger will burn against you, and he will shut up the heavens so that it will not rain and the ground will yield no produce, and you will soon perish from the good land the LORD is giving you. Fix these words of mine in your hearts and minds; tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. Teach them to your children, talking about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up. Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates,  so that your days and the days of your children may be many in the land the LORD swore to give your ancestors, as many as the days that the heavens are above the earth.( Deuteronomy 11: 13-21)

The present advances in technology make it easy for people to move from one location to another. Some leave temporarily and return home, while others leave and never return as they start a new life in a new environment.  Whether our leaving is temporary or permanent, we take things with us. Some had the chance to pack precious belongings as they left Egypt behind. Others fled for the sake of safety like Mary and Joseph did. In our fleeing, we often try to grab physical items such as a passport or food, but other things will flee with us, even though we are not conscious that we are carrying them around. Whatever we take with us, speaks much of who we are, whether or not we are aware.

As you reflect on this from a Christian perspective, think about what you take with you when you leave home?  You may have consciously packed your bag, but did you check your attitude? When conflicts arise, are the words you speak considered “apples of gold in settings of silver?” (Proverbs 25:11). Did you plan to speak love to the next person who annoyed you? When you respond to the fingers that point at you, will your accent give you away as Peter’s did in Matthew 26:73?  What do you have in your wallet? Your pocket?  Your hand? Have you come to the conclusion that all you have is a piece of stick, or will you let Him use that rod as part of His plans for deliverance?  What did you bind to yourself today?

As you think about what you carry today, remember His directive:Fix these words of mine in your hearts and minds; tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. Teach them to your children, talking about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.” Christians, have the potential to positively affect our world for His name’s sake. What we have written on our hearts and bound up in our thoughts will come out as we relate to others. Our human nature is to pack the things that we are contented with and leave out those things that push us out of our comfort zones. When we commit our lives to Christ, we give up the opportunity of packing what we want. Following Him requires a change of heart, a passing up of old habits and the taking on of a desire to live the life that counts in His eyes. Nothing is worth carrying around if He will not be glorified through it. What do you have bound to you today?

Inventory / Introspection: Will the things I bind to myself lead others to Him, or will they drive others away from His kingdom?

Personal application: If He were to call me into account tomorrow, would He be pleased with what I have been walking around with?

 Father, I thank You for revelation. I am not always aware of how what I do or say can affect those around me. Sometimes something spoken or done in innocence can prove to be painfully damaging to my brethren. Help me to keep Your words “fixed in my heart and mind, tied as a symbol on my heart and bound on my forehead” as a daily reminder that what I walk around with should only honour You. Help me to speak with your accent so the life I live will attract others to You.  There are physical aspects of myself that I cannot change, but if I allow you to mold me daily, I will be more effective in service to You. What I see as limitation, You can use as opportunities for Your glory.

Please search through all I have amassed over the years.  Do take inventory of all I hold dear, and rearrange as You see fit and rid me of anything that will cause others to see anything but the Christ that lives  in me. It is my desire “to love You  and to serve You with all my heart and with all my soul”

Amen

Blessings,
ann

Toni R
(c)

Scripture taken from THE HOLY BIBLE, NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION®, NIV® Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica, Inc.™ Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide.

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

