I declare to you, brothers and sisters, that flesh and blood cannot inherit the kingdom of God, nor does the perishable inherit the imperishable. Listen, I tell you a mystery: We will not all sleep, but we will all be changed – in a flash, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet. For the trumpet will sound, the dead will be raised imperishable, and we will be changed The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law.  But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. Therefore, my dear brothers and sisters, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain. 1 Corinthians 15: 50-58

At a recent ceremony remembering those who had perished in wars, information on the lives of fallen soldiers was projected on a screen for all to see. As the names rolled by in the moment of silence, I found myself thinking about that “great and terrible day”, of the Lord when He will judge the earth. The shrill notes of the bagpipe broke the silence and startled many in the courtyard. Again I thought about the last day, and wondered about those who would be caught off-guard, even though Jesus warned that we must be ready, because the Son of Man will come at an hour when (we) do not expect him” St Matthew 24:44

As I stood shoulder to shoulder with those around me, I wondered how many of them had a personal relationship with Jesus, and on what side of the line they will stand in that day. Pausing to remember those who sacrificed themselves to buy our freedom is a good thing … I wondered how many of those in the crowd felt justified through good works, not knowing what Jesus said in St Matthew 7: 21-23:  “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name and in your name drive out demons and in your name perform many miracles?’  Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!”

Those who remain in Him, or those who have died in Him have a hope or eternal life. Those who find themselves on the wrong side of the fence, will have no chance of eternal life, regardless of how good they were, or how much they sacrificed for others.  Salvation through Jesus Christ is the only way to eternal salvation. If you are saved and you know that to be so, why not pass the word along? If you have not yet made the decision, this simple prayer could help you. Why not make today ‘your day’?  Dear Jesus, I acknowledge You as Lord and I confess my sins to You.  Please forgive me for the wrongs I’ve done.  Please come into my heart and show me how to live for You. Thank you for hearing and answering my prayer. Amen.

Inventory / Introspection: Knowing what I know about His imminent return, how effective have I been in sharing the Good News with others?

Personal application:  Do I sense Him guiding me to share His love with anyone in particular? Will I prayerfully seek Him to give me the opportunity to share Him with another, even though others may frown on my behavior?

Father, I am thankful for those who will claim today as their spiritual birthday. We rejoice with the angels in heaven today! I pray You will send the right people to go alongside them so that they will grow and develop in You.

I am thankful for the freedom I experience in living in this nation. I thank You for keeping our land “glorious and free” and I thank You for those who have sacrificed themselves for our freedom. As our nation pauses to remember those who have perished for our freedom, help us to be on the alert for those who are perishing daily in sin and help us to point them to the only Path to true freedom. We believe that You order the steps of the righteous and many of us are in places where we meet different people every day. Help us to share You with others so that they too can experience the peace that comes with being free in You.

May Your peace truly fill our hearts and minds as we walk in Your will today.

Amen

Blessings,
ann

Toni R
(c)

Scripture taken from THE HOLY BIBLE, NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION®, NIV® Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica, Inc.™ Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide.

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

