Hear my cry, O God; attend unto my prayer. From the end of the earth will I cry unto thee, when my heart is overwhelmed: lead me to the rock that is higher than I. For thou hast been a shelter for me, and a strong tower from the enemy. I will abide in thy tabernacle for ever: I will trust in the covert of thy wings. (Psalms 61:1-4 – KJV)

As the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return to it without watering the earth and making it bud and flourish, so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater, so is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it. (Isaiah 55:10-11)

The Bible records the stories of those God placed in one environment then moved them on to greener pastures. It’s human nature to want the pastures, but I am yet to meet one who wants the process that one must go through to get it. 

When I gave my life to Christ, I gave up my rights to direct my own path. I didn’t realize that at first, and having realized it, there are still days I want to do my own thing. There are days I wish I had a sneak peek into what He has for me so I could at least know what’s coming down the pipeline. Fortunately for me, He doesn’t play by my rules. I would rather not have to deal with the harsh waves of life that toss me against the hard places, but I know that even in the midst of the storm, the Peace-speaker is speaking to me.

God will deliver on His promises. His timing may not be in line with ours, but we can rest assured that He will not go back on His word. I don’t know what your day, your week, your month or even your life has been like so far. Maybe you would really don’t want to be where you are. Maybe, like me, you have been trying to get a glimpse into the ‘better days’ that have been promised. I want to encourage you today to hold on a bit longer.  There are people watching you as they struggle with their own storms. They may be thinking that if your faith sustains you, they may trust the God you serve. If you give up, they may feel like there’s no reason to hold on. May I encourage you to hang on today? If not for your sake, then hang on for the sake of those who wait to see how your God will come through for you.

Inventory / Introspection: How has my attitude to my daily challenges reflected my level of contentment in my present position?

Personal application:  Will I trust Him to lead me today so that others see Him, even if it causes me pain?

Father, I have found myself in an uncomfortable place. Truth be told, I would rather not be here, but I know that there is no place I can go that You are not already there, so even in the midst of this, You are here with me. I am thankful that You have not left me alone.  I don’t like this place of uncertainty, but I know that Your plans for me “are good … and prosperous”, so I will trust You to carry me over the issues I cannot walk through and I trust You to keep me covered when the winds of adversity blow. I am safe and protected in You, even when I don’t feel like it. “You are my Hiding Place. You will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance” Psalm 32:7… I choose to lose myself in You.

I confess today that I would rather not be here, but I know that there are others who are watching to see how You will deliver me. Help me to “stand still and see Your salvation” so that Your name may be glorified in these circumstances.  My life is in Your hands.

Amen

Blessings,
ann

Toni R
(c)

Except where indicated, Scripture taken from THE HOLY BIBLE, NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION®, NIV® Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica, Inc.™ Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide.

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

