There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens: a time to be born and a time to die, a time to plant and a time to uproot, a time to kill and a time to heal, a time to tear down and a time to build,  a time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and a time to dance, a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them, a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing, a time to search and a time to give up, a time to keep and a time to throw away, a time to tear and a time to mend, a time to be silent and a time to speak, a time to love and a time to hate, a time for war and a time for peace. (Ecclesiastes 3:1-8)

We have once again crossed the threshold into a new year. Each New Year brings new options and opportunities and many make resolutions as to how they will use the days ahead.  What will you do with this time that He has given you?

Ruth experienced the pain of bereavement, but when God presented her a chance at a new beginning, she chose to move forward. (Ref Ruth 3 & 4)  The Israelites had suffered for years at the hands of the Pharaoh, but when deliverance was offered, they seized the opportunity to finally live as a free people (ref Exodus 12:31-42).  It would have been easy for both Ruth and the Israelites to continue in their suffering, seeing that they had endured it for so long, but they chose instead to trust the hand of God to lead them out of their situations.  How do you plan to use your new beginning?

Wherever you are in life and whatever the resolutions you have made for this year, rest assured that your future is still in His hands. If He offers you a way out of your circumstances, you may want to step out on His promise. There is absolutely nothing too hard for God. Maybe this could be the year you resolve to listen more closely to His guidance and direction. Maybe this could be the year you resolve to trust Him even when you can’t see what’s coming around the bend. Maybe this could be the year He brings restoration and deliverance for the days of pain and suffering you have walked through. This could be the year of your new beginning!

Maybe you have wandered far, or have walked outside His will. Maybe this is the year to fall back and watch Him unfold His plans for your life.  While you still have breath and life, you still have hope. Will you trust Him to lead you to your new beginning?. “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.  Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. Jeremiah 29:11-13

Inventory / Introspection:  Am I willing to give God this year so He can use it for His glory?

Father, I am thankful that You are concerned about everything that is connected to me and that you are making provisions for new beginnings even as I mourn the loss of that which was dear and familiar to me.  I am also thankful that you order the steps of the righteous. I know that there are times You will order my steps in places I would prefer not to go, but I know that You are in control of my life, so I will choose to let You direct.

As I step out in this New Year, I place all I am, hope for and dream of in Your hands. I don’t know what lies ahead of me, but You are already in tomorrow, so I will trust You to direct me. You are already aware of each moment of my life and what paths will open up to me. Help me to keep my eyes on You, regardless of what my realities happen to be.

I trust You to order my steps in this year 2012 and beyond.

Amen.

 

Blessings,
ann

Toni R
(c)

Except where indicated, Scripture taken from THE HOLY BIBLE, NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION®, NIV® Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica, Inc.™ Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide.

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

