Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their labor: If either of them falls down, one can help the other up. But pity anyone who falls and has no one to help them up. Also, if two lie down together, they will keep warm. But how can one keep warm alone?  Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken. Ecclesiastes 4:9-12

Crossroads are inevitable in life. We all get to the point where we need to make decisions, and from the decisions we make, we face subsequent choices and decisions. Some decisions are easy to make, others require more effort and thought. Fortunately, God provides those whose ministry in our lives can guide us to making the right decisions. These verses speak much of the importance of having people around us who can support and encourage our walk. 

Take a moment and think about where you are and how you got there. Can you think of a time when you needed support and God provided someone to help you just in time? Think again… Can you think of a time when you ‘happened’ to be in the right place at the right time for someone who needed help finding their way to a destination that was familiar to you? Or perhaps you had no idea how to direct them, but together you were able to come up with the right solution?  That’s the beauty of having support! We do need each other.

For all the disappointments I have faced in life, I can look back and see how God had positioned relationships that offered me guidance, support and strength; even though I did not always recognize or admit that He was working things out for my good. My prayer is that God would position the right people in your life to help you make the right decisions as you come to your various crossroad situations.

Painful past experiences can cause us to hold back on allowing others to get close to us, but healing and forgiveness are His speciality.  Would you trust Him to be the third strand at your next crossroad?

Inventory/Introspection: With all that life demands, how can I ensure I am there for those God puts in my path during their crossroad moments?

Personal Application: – Recognizing that I cannot exist on my own, I am willing to take the following  practical steps to help me be gracious in receiving  direction from others, and to be there for those He places in my path.

            Step 1________________________________

            Step 2 ________________________________, etc.

Father, we are thankful that You have plans for us to give us a future with hope, even though we don’t always feel that way. We are thankful too that you are never caught off-guard, and because all things are in Your hands, You create opportunities for us to minister in the lives of each other by setting us up to be there for each other in our crossroad moments.

Help us to keep open eyes and open hearts for those who need help, and remind us to live in humility and accept the help You send in others. Your words show the importance of being in relationship with others and we thank You for the very clear examples that we need others as much as they need us. I lay before You the practical steps I have listed above. These may seem difficult to me, but You can give me the strength to do Your will. I trust You to direct me and I choose to believe that You will!

I trust You to use me to be part of another’s story to the glory of Your name.

Amen

Blessings,
ann

Toni R
(c)

Except where indicated, Scripture taken from THE HOLY BIBLE, NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION®, NIV® Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica, Inc.™ Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide.

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

