It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery. Galatians 5:1 

Many of us live in countries where we are free to make choices. For the most part, we decide what jobs we take, where we live, the schools we send our children to, and what we eat and wear. As much as this freedom is valued by many, at the end of it all, the freedom that comes from Christ is the only freedom that matters.

The Apostle Paul experienced highs and lows, yet he was able to record that through the strength that comes from Christ, He had learnt “the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.” (Refer to Philippians 4: 11-13)

As I pondered Paul’s situation, what he lived through and how he was able to showcase Christ, it occurred to me that many of us are in a much better place than Paul was, in the sense that we are not in prison, we are not in chains, and we are not being forced to do what we do not want to do.

Freedom in Christ does not mean that there will not be trials or difficulties. It does not mean that we will not face struggles or disappointments.  This freedom means that we can face what life throws at us knowing that Christ will give us the strength to endure. If Paul was able to experience contentment in his circumstances, why can we not experience true freedom in our lives?

Inventory/Introspection:  Am I living as one truly made free in Christ? What changes do I need to make to ensure that I am living in the freedom Christ brought, and that I do not again “become entangled in the yoke of bondage?”

Father, I am thankful for the freedom that comes from a right relationship with Jesus Christ. I am thankful that even though I may face physical, financial or other restrictions, these cannot change the fact that I live in the freedom that has been bought by the blood of Christ!

I will rely on You to be my strength as I learn how to be content in the situations that confront me. I will live in the knowledge that unless I am free in Christ, then I am really not free.

I pray You will open my physical and spiritual eyes to those around me who have not yet experienced  true Freedom, and that I would  be willing to share how You delivered me, so that others may be drawn to You.

Amen

Blessings,
ann

Toni R
(c)

Except where indicated, Scripture taken from THE HOLY BIBLE, NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION®, NIV® Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica, Inc.™ Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide.

© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

