…“My son, do not make light of the Lord’s discipline,  and do not lose heart when he rebukes you, because the Lord disciplines the one he loves,  and he chastens everyone he accepts as his son.”  Endure hardship as discipline; God is treating you as his children. For what children are not disciplined by their father? If you are not disciplined—and everyone undergoes discipline—then you are not legitimate, not true sons and daughters at all.

… 11 No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.  Hebrews 12: 5 (excerpt)-11

 Those who disregard discipline despise themselves, but the one who heeds correction gains understanding. Proverbs 15:32

The difference between discipline, correction and punishment may not always be apparent, so many times when the opportunities for discipline and correction presented themselves, we may, out of fear, run in the other direction, intent at not suffering one more blow. Our Father’s discipline is different. When God disciplines His children, it is so that we can become better and develop into what He wants us to become. His hand toward us is a hand of love, even if we endure pain while going through the process.

Paul wrote that he had learned be content in whichever state he finds himself. I don’t know many like Paul, but when we rely on God to take us what we need to go through, we will find our discipline journey to be much more bearable than when we face correction because of our own unwise choices.

As believers, there will be times when we don’t want to take the path He lays out, but it is important for us to bear the following in mind:

·         Discipline is a part of our growth process

·         If we are not disciplined, we are not legitimate children

·         Discipline is unpleasant, but yields righteousness and peace

·         Correction brings understanding

Discipline in the life of the believer is inevitable. We have to face it if we choose to walk with Him.

Inventory/Introspection: Inventory/Introspection: What is my genuine response to God’s discipline?

Personal Application:   If I disregard discipline, I despise myself, but if I heed correction, I gain understanding. (Proverbs 15:32)

Father, I do not always look forward to, nor do I enjoy discipline. If I could survive without discipline, I would likely take that option, but I know this is not your design for my life.   

I am thankful that Your discipline is bound up in love, and that Your actions towards me are to help me to live the life that will glorify You. As painful as my life experiences may be, You are aware of all that concerns me, and You have my best interest at heart.

I have not yet learned how to be content in any situation, but I know that I can get there with Your love. Help me to view my life from the lens of a loving Father Who only wants what is best for His children. Help me to understand that by allowing You to mold and break and shape me, I am moving closer to experiencing what it feels like to be totally sold out to You.

I will trust You to lead me in the path that will bring “a harvest of righteousness and peace.

Amen.

Blessings,
ann


Toni R
(c)
Except where indicated, Scripture taken from THE HOLY BIBLE, NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION®, NIV® Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica, Inc.™ Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide.
© Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s Blog, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Anthonette Anderson and Tonirand’s blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.  .

 

